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WHAT’S NEW?
Few changes to guidebook: As you flip 
through the guidebook, you may notice that 
the regulations seem familiar.  That’s because 
this is the third year of a three-year guidebook 
for black bear hunting. This book will remain 
relatively unchanged until the 2015 season. 
The Utah Wildlife Board approved a three-year 
guidebook to ensure consistency and ease of 
use for hunters.

Possible changes to license fees: The 
Division has proposed changes to many of 
its hunting and fishing license fees. The Utah 
Legislature will consider those proposals when 
it meets in early 2014. To learn more, see the 
information box on page 4.

Updated season dates: Season dates 
change every year. For details, see the tables 
that start on page 28.

And remember

Hunting license required: Before you can 
apply for or obtain a 2014 black bear hunting 
permit, bonus point or pursuit permit, you 
must have a valid Utah hunting or combina-
tion license. Please see page 9 for more 
information. 

Buy your license over the phone: You 
can now buy a Utah hunting or combination 
license over the telephone. Just call 1-800-
221-0659. The line is staffed 24 hours a day, 
seven days a week. In addition to the fee for 
the license, you’ll also be charged a $2 transac-
tion fee for each item you buy.

Apply for permits online or by phone: 
You can apply for a limited-entry bear permit 
online or by phone from Feb. 10–March 
3, 2014. There’s an 11 p.m. deadline for 
online applications and a 5 p.m. deadline 
for phone applications. To apply, simply visit 
wildlife.utah.gov or call any Division office. 

CONTACT US
Turn in a poacher
Phone: 1-800-662-3337
Email: turninapoacher@utah.gov
Online: wildlife.utah.gov/utip

Division offices
Offices are open 8 a.m.–5 p.m., Monday 
through Friday.

Salt Lake City
1594 W North Temple
Box 146301
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6301
801-538-4700

Central Region
1115 N Main Street
Springville, UT 84663
801-491-5678

Northeastern Region
318 N Vernal Avenue
Vernal, UT 84078
435-781-9453

Northern Region
515 E 5300 S
Ogden, UT 84405
801-476-2740

Southeastern Region
319 N Carbonville Road, Ste A
Price, UT 84501
435-613-3700

Southern Region
1470 N Airport Road
Cedar City, UT 84721
435-865-6100

Washington County Field Office
451 N SR-318
Hurricane, UT 84737
435-879-8694

A closer look at the rules
This guidebook summarizes Utah’s black 

bear hunting laws and rules. Although it is 
a convenient quick-reference document for 
Utah’s regulations, it is not an all-encompass-
ing resource. 

For an in-depth look at Utah’s 
black bear hunting laws and rules, visit 
wildlife.utah.gov/rules.

You can use the references in the guide-
book—such as Utah Code § 23-20-3 and Utah 
Administrative Rule R657-33-3—to search the 
Division’s website for the detailed statute or 
rule that underpins the guidebook summary. 

If you have questions about a particular 
rule, call or visit the nearest Division office.

Who makes the rules?
The Utah Wildlife Board passes the rules 

and laws summarized in this guidebook.
There are seven board members, and 

each serves a six-year term. Appointed by the 
governor, board members are not Division 
employees.

The Division’s director serves as the board’s 
executive secretary but does not have a vote on 
wildlife policies.

Before board members make changes to 
wildlife rules, they listen to recommendations 
from Division biologists. They also receive input 
from the public and various interest groups via 
the Regional Advisory Council (RAC) process.

 If you have feedback or suggestions for 
board members, you can find their contact 
information online at wildlife.utah.gov.

Wildlife Board members

John Bair
Calvin Crandall
Steve Dalton
Michael King
Kirk Woodward

Jake Albrecht, Chair
Bill Fenimore, Vice Chair
Gregory Sheehan, 

Division Director & 
Executive Secretary

http://wildlife.utah.gov
mailto:turninapoacher%40utah.gov?subject=
http://wildlife.utah.gov/utip
http://wildlife.utah.gov/rules
http://wildlife.utah.gov
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color, national origin, age, disability or sex. If 
you believe that you have been discriminated 
against in any program, activity or facility, or if 
you desire further information, please write to: 

The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Office for Diversity and Civil Rights 

Programs–External Programs
4040 North Fairfax Drive, Suite 130
Arlington, VA 22203

Division funding: The Division is mostly 
funded by the sale of hunting and fishing 
licenses and through federal aid made possible 
by an excise tax on the sale of firearms and 
other hunting- and fishing-related equipment.

Make a difference: You can get involved in 
the decision-making process for Utah wildlife 
management—and provide input on rules 
and regulations—by attending your local 
Regional Advisory Council (RAC) meetings. For 
more information on the RACs and schedules, 
visit wildlife.utah.gov/public_meetings.

Protection from discrimination: The 
Division receives federal financial assistance 
from the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. Under 
Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Section 
504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, Title II 
of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, 
the Age Discrimination Act of 1975, Title IX of 
the Education Amendments of 1972, the U.S. 
Department of the Interior and its bureaus 
prohibit discrimination on the basis of race, 

365-day pursuit permits: Pursuit permits 
are now valid for 365 days from the day you 
buy them. Even though the permits are valid 
for 365 days, please remember that you may 
pursue bears only during the state’s pursuit 
seasons. You’ll find pursuit season dates on 
page 6 and pursuit restrictions on page 
26.

Age requirements: If you’re 11 years old, 
but you’ll turn 12 during 2014, you can apply 
for a permit to hunt bears in 2014. Please see 
page 8 for more information.

Private land: The Division cannot guaran-
tee access to any private land. If you plan to 
hunt—or engage in any other wildlife-related 
activities—on private lands, you must obtain 
WRITTEN permission from the landowner or 
the landowner’s authorized representative. For 
more information, please see Trespassing on 
page 25. 

Guidebook correction: If errors are found in 
this guidebook after it is printed, the Division 
will correct them in the online copy. Visit 
wildlife.utah.gov/guidebooks to view digital 
versions of all the Division’s guidebooks.

Drawing results available March 14: 
Results of the 2014 black bear drawing will 
be emailed by March 14. You can also visit 
wildlife.utah.gov or call 1-800-221-0659 to see 
if you were successful. For more information, 
see page 12.

Unit closures available online: Any 
harvest-objective unit closures will be listed on 
the hotline (1-888-668-5466) and posted at 
wildlife.utah.gov/bear by noon daily. Closures 
will take effect the following day.

GPS location required for bait stations: 
If you draw a bear limited-entry archery 
permit, you can also apply for a certificate of 
registration (COR) that allows you to have up to 
two bait stations. You must submit a GPS loca-
tion for any bait station you plan to establish. 
For more information on using bait and obtain-
ing a COR, please see page 22. 

Guides and outfitters: If you’re a Utah-
licensed guide or outfitter—and you’re 
accompanying a paying client to pursue black 
bear—you do not need a pursuit permit. To 
learn more, see the box on page 14.

Orientation course: If you draw a limited-
entry permit—or you plan to purchase a har-
vest-objective permit—you must complete an 
online bear-hunting orientation course. You’ll 
receive your permit after you finish the course. 
See page 15 for details.

Don’t lose your hunting and fi shing privileges
If you commit a wildlife violation, you could lose the privilege of hunting and � shing in Utah. 
The Utah Division of Wildlife Resources can suspend the license of 
anyone who knowingly, intentionally or recklessly violates wildlife 
laws. Your license can be suspended for a wildlife violation if:

•  You are convicted. 
•  You plead guilty or no contest.
•  You enter a plea in abeyance or 

diversion agreement. 

Suspension proceedings are separate and inde-
pendent from criminal prosecution.  The Utah Division 
of Wildlife Resources may suspend your license privileges 
whether or not the court considers suspension in your 
criminal case.  You will be noti� ed of any action against 
your privilege after criminal proceedings conclude. And 
remember, if your license is suspended in Utah, you 
may not be permitted to hunt or � sh in most other 
states. (Visit ianrc.org to see a map of participating states.)

Boundary descriptions 
online

Looking for a map and a boundary 
description for your hunting area? If you 
obtain your permit through the black 
bear drawing, a boundary description 
will be printed on your permit.  

You’ll also find detailed maps and 
boundary descriptions online. Visit 
wildlife.utah.gov/maps to download and 
print your boundaries today.

Possible changes to 
license fees 

In August 2013, the Utah Wildlife 
Board passed a number of proposed 
changes to Utah’s hunting and fishing 
license fees.

The Utah Legislature will consider 
those proposed changes when it meets 
in early 2014. If lawmakers approve 
changes to the license fees, those 
changes may go into effect on July 1, 
2014.

Please visit wildlife.utah.gov after 
June 1, 2014 for more information 
about whether the license fees will be 
changing.

http://wildlife.utah.gov/public_meetings
http://wildlife.utah.gov/guidebooks
http://wildlife.utah.gov
http://wildlife.utah.gov/bear
http://wildlife.utah.gov/maps
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Increased restrictions on the use of bait
Archery hunters must provide GPS loca-

tions for any bait stations they establish.

Monitoring bear harvest
The Division’s biologists monitor the 

number of adult females and males that 
hunters harvest.  (Adults are five years of age 
and older.)

These numbers provide important 
information about how the bear population 
is doing.

John Shivik, the Division’s game mammals 
coordinator, explains, “The relative number of 
harvested females is one way we assess the 
health of a bear population.”

He notes that hunters usually find adult 
males, especially in the spring, because adult 
males wake from hibernation earlier and 
wander more than females. 

“You know a bear population is in decline 
if the number of harvested males is decreas-
ing while the number of harvested females is 
increasing.”  And since females give birth and 
care for the cubs, losing too many females will 
mean that the population can’t grow.

Read the plan
The Utah Black Bear Management Plan is 

available on the Division’s website. You can 
find it online at wildlife.utah.gov/bear.

Division biologists use a detailed plan to 
guide their management of Utah’s black bear 
populations. The plan addresses everything 
from bear biology and habitat to depredation 
and public safety. The plan also focuses on 
hunting, which is the main tool the Division 
uses to manage bear populations.

Substantially revised in January 2011, the 
plan will remain in effect until 2023. Approxi-
mately every three years, the Utah Wildlife 
Board will modify bear harvest recommenda-
tions and make any necessary changes to the 
rules that oversee bear hunting. 

In January 2012, board members approved 
the first hunt changes under the new plan. The 
Utah Wildlife Board will consider additional 
changes to bear hunting and harvest in Janu-
ary 2015.

Changes to bear hunting
In 2012, there were three substantial 

changes to Utah bear hunting. Those changes 
are still in effect during the 2014 season.

Additional spot-and-stalk-only hunts
Most of Utah’s bear hunters use hounds to 

track and tree bears. A few use archery equip-
ment and hunt over bait. Utah now offers a 
few spot-and-stalk-only hunts, where hunters 
may not use hounds or bait. These areas are 
listed in the hunt table on page 30.

Holding harvest-objective hunts
An unlimited number of hunters can hunt 

on a harvest-objective area. With more hunters 
afield, there’s a greater likelihood that a set 
number of bears will be harvested. As soon 
as hunters harvest a predetermined number 
of bears (called the area’s quota), the hunt on 
that area ends for the season.

UTAH’S BEAR MANAGEMENT PLAN
Hunting plays a key role in population management

KEY DATES
Hunt applications

Application available 
online

Feb. 10

Application deadline March 3 

Drawing results available March 14

Harvest-objective permit 
sales begin

March 20

Hunt season dates
Season dates vary, depending on permit type 
and unit. For all season dates, see the hunt 
tables that begin on page 28.

Pursuit season dates for 
restricted pursuit units*

Early summer July 7–21

Late summer July 28–Aug. 10

Pursuit season dates 
(units not designated as 
restricted)

Spring† April 5–May 28

Summer July 7–Aug. 10

Fall Nov. 1–20

* The Book Cliffs, La Sal and San Juan units are Utah’s 
only restricted pursuit units. Restrictions only apply 
during the early and late summer pursuit seasons. 
To learn more about applying for a restricted pursuit 
permit, see page 15.

† Some units offer an extended spring season for both 
hunting and pursuit. For specific season dates, see the 
hunt tables beginning on page 28.

FEES
Resident fees

Hunting license (under 14 years 
of age)

$11

Hunting license (14 years of age 
or older)

$26

Combination license $30

Bear pursuit permit $30

Bear restricted pursuit permit $30**

Bear harvest-objective permit $83

Bear limited-entry permit $83**

Bear premium limited-entry 
permit

$166**

Nonresident fees

Hunting license $65

Combination license $80

Bear pursuit permit $135

Bear restricted pursuit permit $135**

Bear harvest-objective permit $308

Bear limited-entry permit $308**

Bear premium limited-entry 
permit

$475**

Other permit types

Bait station certificate of 
registration (See Bear baiting on 
page 22)

$10

** In addition to the above fees, you will also be 
charged a $10 nonrefundable application fee if you 
apply for the hunt drawing.

KEY DATES AND FEES

http://wildlife.utah.gov/bear
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Have you passed 
hunter education?
Utah Code § 23-19-11 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-23 

If you were born after Dec. 31, 1965, you 
must provide proof that you’ve passed a hunter 
education course approved by the Division 
before you can apply for or obtain a hunting 
license or a bear permit. 

Proof of hunter education
You can prove that you’ve completed 

hunter education by obtaining a hunter educa-
tion course Certificate of Completion (this 
certificate is called a “blue card” in Utah) or by 
using a hunting license from a previous year 
with your hunter education number noted on 
the license.

How to take hunter education
If you were born after 1965, you must take 

and successfully complete the state’s hunter 
education course. It’s an easy process:

1.	 Obtain a hunter education registration 
certificate. Each certificate costs only 
$10, and you can obtain it online, at 
any Division office or from a license 
agent.

2.	 Register for a class with your local 
hunter education instructor.

3.	 Take your registration certificate to your 
instructor on the first night of class.

4.	 Successfully complete the course—
your instructor will then validate your 
certificate. The validated certificate 
serves as your hunting license.

Both the registration certificate and the 
corresponding hunting license are valid for 365 
days from the date of purchase. Note: Your 
hunting license is not valid until you complete 
the hunter education course. 

Are you old enough?
Utah Code §§ 23-19-22.5 and 23-20-20 

To hunt or pursue a black bear in Utah, you 
must be at least 12 years old by Dec. 31, 2014. 

Note: If you’re 11 years old, but you’ll be 
12 by Dec. 31, 2014, you may apply for and 
obtain a black bear permit this year. All sales 
are final. 

To learn more about Utah’s age require-
ments, see the box below.

BASIC REQUIREMENTS
Are you planning to hunt or pursue black bears in Utah this year? Before you apply for a 
permit, make sure you meet Utah’s age, hunter education and license requirements. 

Adults must 
accompany young 
hunters
Utah Code § 23-20-20

While hunting with any weapon, 
a person under 14 years old must be 
accompanied by his or her parent, legal 
guardian or other responsible person 
who is 21 years of age or older and who 
has been approved by the parent or 
guardian. 

A person at least 14 years old and 
under 16 years old must be accompanied 
by a person 21 years of age or older 
while hunting with any weapon. 

The Division encourages adults 
to be familiar with hunter education 
guidelines or to complete the hunter 
education course before accompanying 
youth into the field. 

While in the field, the youth and 
the adult must remain close enough 
for the adult to see and provide verbal 
assistance to the young hunter. Using 
electronic devices, such as walkie-
talkies or cell phones, does not meet this 
requirement.

Do you have a license?
Utah Code §§§ 23-19-1, 23-19-22 and 23-20-3

You must have a current Utah hunting or 
combination (hunting and fishing) license 
before you can:

•	Apply for or obtain a black bear permit of 
any kind or a bonus point

•	Purchase a black bear pursuit permit
Licenses are available at wildlife.utah.gov 

and from license agents and Division offices.
Be sure to take a quick look at the date on 

your license before you apply for any permits 
or points. As long as your license is valid on the 
date you submit your application, you don’t 
have to purchase a new license for the actual 
hunt. 

For example, assume that your license 
expires on June 25, 2014. If you apply before 
that date, you do not have to purchase a new 
license for your hunt. All hunting and combina-
tion licenses are valid for 365 days from the 
date of purchase.

Carry your permit
If you are successful in obtaining a black 

bear permit of any kind, you must have it on 
your person while in the field. You cannot alter 
your license or permit, nor can you sell, transfer 
or loan either of them to another person.

With a valid hunting license, you can also 
apply for or obtain permits in the Division’s 
hunt drawings. In order to maximize your 
hunting opportunities, you should register for 
and complete the hunter education course as 
soon as possible after purchasing your registra-
tion certificate.

After completing the course, you will 
receive your official hunter education card 
(commonly known as the “blue card”) by mail. 
It will be sent to the address listed on your 
registration certificate. This card certifies that 
you passed hunter education.

You should also keep the following in 
mind:

•	Hunters under the age of 16 must be 
accompanied by an adult while hunting.

•	Regardless of when a student graduates, 
all hunting regulations (such as season 
dates and bag limits) will apply.

•	Students who are planning to hunt out 
of state should allow enough time for 
their hunter education card to arrive in 
the mail.

You can see a list of hunter education 
courses at wildlife.utah.gov/huntereducation. 
You can also contact your local Division office 
or call 801-538-4727.

New to Utah?
If you become a Utah resident, and 

you’ve completed a hunter education course 
in another state, province or country, you 
must obtain a blue card before you can buy a 
resident hunting license. You can obtain a Utah 
blue card at any Division office by providing 
proof that you’ve completed a hunter educa-
tion course approved by the Division. The card 
costs $10.

http://wildlife.utah.gov
http://wildlife.utah.gov/huntereducation
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February 10: Apply online for a per-
mit or bonus point

Beginning Feb. 10, 2014, both residents 
and nonresidents can apply for a bear 
permit—or a bonus point—online at 
wildlife.utah.gov. 

You can also apply by calling any Division 
office during regular business hours (8 a.m. to 
5 p.m., Monday through Friday).

To apply for a resident permit, you must be 
a resident on the date the permit is purchased. 
March 14, 2014 is considered the purchase 
date of the permit and the date by which you 
must establish residency in the state of Utah. 
Only nonresidents may apply for nonresident 
permits. To determine whether you’re a resi-
dent, please see the definition on page 35. 

Here’s what you need to know in order 
to apply for a bear premium limited-entry 
permit, limited-entry permit, restricted pursuit 
permit or bonus point:

•	You may select up to three hunt unit 
choices when applying for a bear permit. 
Your choices must be listed in order of 
preference.

•	You cannot apply for both a bear 
limited-entry permit (archery or any 
legal weapon) and a bonus point.

•	Group applications are not accepted. 
•	When applying for a hunting permit, 

you must specify whether you want a 
premium limited-entry permit (any legal 
weapon or archery) or a limited-entry 
permit (any legal weapon or archery). If 
you draw an archery permit, you can bait 
bears, but you must obtain a certificate 
of registration before you set up a bait 
station. For more information on this 
requirement, see page 22. 

•	If you’re interested in pursuing bears 
on a restricted pursuit unit, apply for a 
restricted pursuit permit.

Bear premium limited-entry permit 
(archery)

This permit authorizes you to use archery 
tackle to pursue and harvest one black bear in 
the area and seasons specified on your permit. 
This permit allows hunting during both the 
spring and fall seasons. It is available through 
the state’s bear drawing.

Applying for a bear 
permit
Utah Admin. Rule R657-33-3, R657-33-27, R657-42 and 
R657-62

Please note the following dates if you 
want to apply for a bear permit and enter the 
drawing.

BLACK BEAR PERMITS
In Utah, you must have a valid permit in your possession in order to harvest or pursue a 
black bear. This section describes Utah’s bear permits and explains how you can obtain 
them.

seasons. This permit is available through the 
state’s bear drawing. For more information on 
this permit, see Pursuit permits on page 15.

Bear harvest-objective permit
This permit allows you to use any legal 

weapon to pursue and harvest one bear on any 
harvest-objective hunting unit until the season 
ends or the unit’s harvest objective has been 
met. (There are additional restrictions on the 
fall harvest-objective hunts. For details, see 
page 13.) You can purchase a bear harvest-
objective permit at wildlife.utah.gov, from a 
license agent or at any Division office.

Bear limited-entry permit (any legal 
weapon)

This permit authorizes you to use any 
legal weapon to pursue and harvest one black 
bear in the area and season specified on your 
permit. If the permit is for a spot-and-stalk 
hunt, you may not use hounds or bait to locate, 
pursue or harvest the bear. This permit is avail-
able through the state’s bear drawing.

Bear limited-entry permit (archery)
This permit authorizes you to use archery 

tackle to pursue and harvest one black bear in 
the area and season specified on your permit. 
This permit is available through the state’s bear 
drawing.

Bear premium limited-entry permit 
(any legal weapon)

This permit authorizes you to use any 
legal weapon to pursue and harvest one black 
bear in the area and seasons specified on your 
permit. This permit allows hunting during 
both the spring and fall seasons. It is available 
through the state’s bear drawing.

Types of permits
Utah Admin. Rule R657-33-3 and R657-33-4

You may not apply for or obtain more than 
one permit to harvest a bear in 2014. You can, 
however, obtain a bear pursuit permit in ad-
dition to a limited-entry or harvest-objective 
permit.

If you want to pursue or hunt black bear in 
Utah, your permit options are as follows:

Bear pursuit permit
This permit authorizes you to pursue, but 

not kill, black bears on any unit that is not 
designated as restricted during all three pur-
suit seasons. (For all pursuit season dates, see 
page 6.) You may also use a pursuit permit 
on restricted pursuit units during the spring 
and fall pursuit seasons. For a complete list of 
units where you can use a bear pursuit permit, 
visit wildlife.utah.gov/maps. You can purchase 
a pursuit permit at wildlife.utah.gov, from a 
license agent or at any Division office.

Bear restricted pursuit permit
This permit authorizes you to pursue, 

but not kill, black bears on one of the three 
restricted pursuit units listed in the table on 
page 33. The permit is also valid for all pur-
suit seasons on all other units, except the other 
restricted pursuit units during the summer 

Residency
Utah Code § 23-13-2(37)

Before you apply for a black bear 
permit, it’s important to know whether 
you are a legal resident of the state of 
Utah. See the definition of residency on 
page 35 to determine whether you are 
a resident or a nonresident.

Why offer a pursuit 
season?

Using dogs to pursue or track bears is 
how many Utah houndsmen train their 
animals. After the dogs tree a bear—
and the houndsmen sometimes take a 
few photos—the bear returns to the 
wild unharmed.

Black bears developed the ability to 
climb trees as a way to escape natural 
predators such as grizzly bears and 
wolves. As a result, being chased up a 
tree by dogs is an extension of the black 
bear’s natural history.

By pursuing bears with dogs—with-
out harvesting the bear—houndsmen 
can gain valuable experience that will 
help them after they draw a limited-
entry hunting permit. 

The training process has at least one 
potentially negative effect: it may drain a 
bear’s energy if pursuit occurs too often. 
To minimize this negative effect, pursuit 
with dogs is not allowed during most of 
the fall when black bears are adding the 
necessary fat reserves to survive winter 
hibernation.

http://wildlife.utah.gov
http://wildlife.utah.gov
http://wildlife.utah.gov/maps
http://wildlife.utah.gov
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Application 
restrictions

You cannot apply for a bear permit or 
obtain a bonus point if either of the following 
conditions apply:

•	You are currently under wildlife license 
suspension for hunting bear.

•	You are currently under a waiting period 
for bear.

Harvest-objective 
permits
Utah Admin. Rule R657-33-29

The bear harvest-objective permit allows 
you to pursue and harvest one bear on any 
harvest-objective hunting unit until the season 
ends or the unit’s harvest objective has been 
met.

You may not use bait if you obtain a 
harvest-objective permit, and you may not use 
dogs during the fall harvest-objective hunts.

Before you purchase a harvest-objective 
permit, you must complete the bear orienta-
tion course, which you can find online at 
wildlife.utah.gov/bear.

wildlife.utah.gov/bear. For more information, 
see page 15.

Please be aware that if you receive your 
permit, and then the credit card you used for 
payment is refused, your permit becomes 
invalid and you may not participate in the bear 
pursuit or hunt. If this happens, please call 
1-800-221-0659 to resolve the problem.

March 20: Remaining permits avail-
able

Any permits remaining after the bear 
drawing will be available beginning March 
20, 2014 at 8 a.m. You can buy permits at 
wildlife.utah.gov and at license agent locations 
and Division offices. 

Remaining permits are available on a first-
come, first-served basis. You must have a valid 
hunting license or a combination license to buy 
one of these permits.

A license agent list is available online at 
wildlife.utah.gov/licenseagents. Before you visit 
any of the agents, contact them to verify their 
hours of operation.

Any bear limited-entry permit purchased 
after the season opens is not valid until seven 
days after the date of purchase. 

March 3: Deadline for withdrawing 
your application

If you decide not to hunt, you can with-
draw your online permit application at no cost 
until 11 p.m. on March 3, 2014.

Please remember that the application fee 
is not refundable.

March 14: Drawing results available
By March 14, 2014, you’ll receive an 

email that lists your drawing results. You can 
also learn your drawing results by visiting 
wildlife.utah.gov or by calling 1-800-221-0659. 

To protect applicants’ privacy—and to 
comply with changes in governmental records 
access laws—you’ll receive access to only your 
own drawing results.

If you draw a hunting permit, you’ll 
receive your permit in the mail in April after 
you complete the mandatory bear orienta-
tion course. You will find the course online at 

When you submit your application, you’ll 
be charged a nonrefundable $10 application 
fee. If you purchase your hunting or combina-
tion license during the application process, 
you’ll also be charged a license fee. Permit fees 
will be charged after the drawing, if you are 
successful.

You can use American Express, Discover, 
MasterCard and VISA credit or debit cards as 
payment, and they must be valid through April 
2014. You can also use a pre-paid credit card. 
If you have questions about using a pre-paid 
credit card, check with your financial institu-
tion for more information.

March 3: Deadline for permit applica-
tions and bonus points
Utah Admin. Rule R657-62

If you want to participate in the drawing 
for a bear premium limited-entry permit, 
a limited-entry permit, a restricted pursuit per-
mit or a bonus point, you must apply online or 
by phone no later than March 3, 2014. There’s 
an 11 p.m. deadline for online applications and 
a 5 p.m. deadline for phone applications. To 
apply, simply visit wildlife.utah.gov or call any 
Division office.

Withdrawing and resubmitting your applica-
tion

Did you make a mistake in your online per-
mit application? Simply withdraw your original 
online application and submit a new, correct 
application before 11 p.m. on March 3, 2014. 

You must have your confirmation number, 
your customer ID and your date of birth in or-
der to withdraw your application. For each new 
application you submit, you will be charged a 
$10 nonrefundable application fee. 

If you need help with your online applica-
tion, please call any Division office before 5 
p.m. on March 3, 2014. A Division employee 
will be available to assist you.

Bonus points
Utah Admin. Rule R657-62-8

You will receive a bonus point every 
year you apply for a bear permit but 
don’t draw one. 

If you don’t want to hunt a bear in 
the current year, you may apply for a 
bonus point by selecting the appropri-
ate bonus point code (BER) and paying 
the $10 application fee. The application 
period is Feb. 10–March 3, 2014.

To apply for a bonus point, you must 
be eligible for the hunt for which you are 
applying. For example, if you are eligible 
for a bear permit, you are eligible to 
apply for a bear bonus point.

You may apply for either a bear 
permit or a bonus point, but NOT both.

For detailed information on how your 
bonus points work in the drawing, visit 
wildlife.utah.gov/huntingpermits.

Please tread lightly and travel only on routes and 
in areas designated open for motor vehicle use. 
Remember, Respected Access is Open Access. THIS PUBLIC SERVICE ANNOUNCEMENT IS POWERED BY

http://wildlife.utah.gov/bear
http://wildlife.utah.gov/bear
http://wildlife.utah.gov
http://wildlife.utah.gov/licenseagents
http://wildlife.utah.gov
http://wildlife.utah.gov
http://wildlife.utah.gov/huntingpermits
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trends, assess harvest success and collect other 
valuable information.

Pursuit permits
Utah Admin. Rule R657-33-4

There are two types of bear pursuit 
permits: restricted pursuit permits and pursuit 
permits. Both permits allow you to pursue a 
bear, but they differ in when and where they 
authorize pursuit. 

Restricted pursuit permits
You may obtain a restricted pursuit permit 

for either the early- or late-summer pursuit 
season on only one of the following units:

•	Book Cliffs
•	La Sal
•	San Juan

Your restricted pursuit permit is also valid 
for all pursuit seasons on all other units, except 
the other restricted units during the summer 
seasons. For all pursuit season dates, see page 
6. 

more information about this drawing, visit 
wildlife.utah.gov/guidebooks.

A complete copy of the conservation and 
sportsman permit regulations (Utah Admin. 
Rule R657-41) is available at Division offices or 
at wildlife.utah.gov/rules.

Bear orientation 
course

Before you can obtain a bear-hunting 
permit of any kind, you must complete a bear 
orientation course.

You will find the orientation course online 
at wildlife.utah.gov/bear. 

After you successfully complete the course, 
you will receive the information you need in 
order to obtain your permit. 

Harvest reporting
Utah Admin. Rule R657-33-17

If you harvest a bear, you must contact 
the Division within 48 hours. You will need to 
report where the bear was taken and meet 
with a Division employee to have a permanent 
tag affixed to the carcass.

Evidence of the bear’s sex must remain 
attached to the bear’s carcass or pelt until a 
Division employee attaches a permanent tag.

To report your harvest after business hours 
(8 a.m.–5 p.m., Monday through Friday) or 
over the weekend, please call your local police 
department (on a non-emergency line). They 
will contact a conservation officer who can 
assist you.

For more information on the reporting and 
tagging process, see page 23.

Participating in 
surveys
Utah Admin. Rule R657-33-24

If the Division contacts you about your bear 
hunting experience, please participate in the 
survey regardless of your success. Your partici-
pation helps the Division evaluate population 

Harvest-objective unit closures
Utah Admin. Rule R657-33-31

Harvest-objective permits are only valid for 
the 2014 season on any open unit. 

Before you begin a hunting trip to a bear 
harvest-objective unit, you must call 1-888-
668-5466 or visit wildlife.utah.gov to verify 
that the unit is still open. The phone line and 
website will be updated each day by noon. 
Updates become effective the following day, 
30 minutes before official sunrise.

A harvest-objective unit is open to hunting 
until one of the following events occurs:

•	The bear harvest objective for that unit 
is met.

•	The female subquota for that unit is met 
(if it has a female subquota).

•	The hunting season ends. For season 
dates, see the hunt tables that begin on 
page 28.

After a harvest-objective unit closes, you 
may not use your harvest-objective permit to 
harvest a bear in that area. You may, however, 
use your permit in any other harvest-objective 
units that are open in 2014. 

Note: The Nine Mile harvest-objective 
hunt has a quota that includes the fall limited-
entry harvest. If the unit’s quota is achieved 
during the limited-entry hunt, the harvest-
objective hunt will not open.

For more information about how Utah uses 
hunting to manage its black bear populations, 
see the article on page 7.

Conservation and 
sportsman permits
Utah Admin. Rule R657-41

Conservation permits for taking black bear 
are often available through official tax-exempt 
conservation organizations. These groups sell 
the permits at auction or use them in wildlife-
related fundraising activities. 

Sportsman permits are available 
through the sportsman permit drawing. For 

The harvest-objective permit is available to 
all eligible hunters, except those who drew a 
bear limited-entry permit of any kind.

You may only obtain one permit to harvest 
a bear during the 2014 season.

March 20: Purchase a harvest-objec-
tive permit
Utah Admin. Rule R657-33-30

Both residents and nonresidents can 
purchase a bear harvest-objective permit 
beginning March 20, 2014. You can purchase 
this permit from license agents, Division offices 
and wildlife.utah.gov.

Remember that any harvest-objective 
bear permit purchased after the season opens 
is not valid until seven days from the date of 
purchase. As a result, the last day to purchase 
a 2014 harvest-objective permit is Nov. 12, 
2014. We suggest that you purchase a permit 
early in the season because a unit may close at 
any time.

Help the Division 
collect bear data

When bears are checked at Division 
offices, a Division employee will do the 
following:

•	Determine the sex of the bear
•	Extract a small tooth to obtain 

accurate age information
The information and tooth sample 

are very important because they help 
the Division responsibly manage bear 
populations. We greatly appreciate your 
cooperation in this effort. To make the 
tooth extraction easier, you should prop 
the bear’s mouth open before bringing 
it to a Division office. PLEASE DO NOT 
BRING FROZEN BEARS.

Guides and outfitters
Guides must be licensed by the state 

of Utah—and operate under a state-
licensed outfitter—before they can 
legally take bear hunters into the field. 
Guides may not operate independently.

The Utah Division of Occupa-
tional and Professional Licensing is 
the regulatory agency for this law. 
To learn more about becoming a 
licensed guide or outfitter, please visit 
wildlife.utah.gov/guides.

If you are a licensed guide or outfit-
ter—and you charge a customer more 
than $100 for a bear hunting or pursuit 
trip—you do not have to purchase a 
separate bear pursuit permit.

If you are a hunter who wants to use 
a particular guide or outfitter, please visit 
wildlife.utah.gov/guides to determine if 
he or she is licensed to operate in Utah.

http://wildlife.utah.gov/guidebooks
http://wildlife.utah.gov/rules
http://wildlife.utah.gov/bear
http://wildlife.utah.gov
http://wildlife.utah.gov
http://wildlife.utah.gov/guides
http://wildlife.utah.gov/guides
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You may obtain a bear harvest-objective 
permit while under a waiting period for a bear 
limited-entry permit. You will not begin a new 
waiting period if you purchase a harvest-
objective permit.

Permits obtained after 
the drawing
Utah Admin. Rule R657-62

If you’re under a waiting period for black 
bear, you can still obtain any limited-entry 
bear permit that remains after the drawing, 
but your waiting period will begin again.

For example, if you have one season left 
on your bear waiting period, and you buy a 
bear limited-entry permit (archery or any 
legal weapon) that remains available after 
the drawing, you’ll begin a new two-season 
waiting period. 

Hunters with 
disabilities
Utah Admin. Rule R657-12

Utah provides special hunting accom-
modations for people with disabilities. These 
accommodations include the opportunity to 
hunt with a companion, use a crossbow, hunt 
from a vehicle, and receive special season 
extensions.

To learn more about hunting accommoda-
tions for people with disabilities, please visit 
wildlife.utah.gov/disabled or call any Division 
office.

Permit refunds and 
exchanges
Utah Code §§ 23-19-38, 23-19-38.2 and Utah Admin. Rule 
R657-42

Obtaining a refund
The Division rarely issues refunds for per-

mits, licenses or certificates of registration, but 
there are some exceptions. To see if you’re eligi-
ble for a refund, visit wildlife.utah.gov/refund.

Your best chance of obtaining a restricted 
pursuit permit is through the state’s bear 
drawing. See Applying for a bear permit on 
page 11 for more information about the 
application period and requirements. 

For a list of restricted pursuit units and 
dates, see the hunt table on page 33.

Pursuit permits
You can purchase a pursuit permit online at 

wildlife.utah.gov or from a Division office or a 
participating license agent.

A pursuit permit allows you to pursue a 
bear—during all three pursuit seasons—on 
any unit not designated as restricted. You 
may also use your pursuit permit on restricted 
pursuit units during the spring and fall pursuit 
seasons. For all pursuit season dates, see Key 
dates and fees on page 6. 

For a complete list of units where 
you can use a bear pursuit permit, visit 
wildlife.utah.gov/maps.

If you are the dog handler, and you already 
possess a bear limited-entry permit (archery 
or any legal weapon), you may pursue bear 
on the unit for which the permit is valid. If you 
want to pursue bear on a different unit—or 
after you harvest a bear—you will need to 
purchase a bear pursuit permit. 

Waiting period
Utah Admin. Rule R657-62

If you obtain a bear limited-entry permit, 
there is a two-year waiting period before 
you can apply for another bear limited-entry 
permit or bonus point. 

For example, if you obtain a bear permit 
in 2014, you may not apply for a bear permit 
until 2017.

The waiting period gives other hunters 
a better chance at drawing a limited-entry 
permit.

Exchanging a permit
If you obtain a bear limited-entry permit 

(any legal weapon), you can exchange it for a 
bear limited-entry archery permit. Likewise, 
you can exchange a bear limited-entry archery 
permit for a bear limited-entry permit (any 
legal weapon).

The Division will charge a $10 fee if you 
exchange your permit.

Surrendering a permit
Utah Code § 23-19-38 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-42

If you obtain a permit and decide not to 
use it, you may surrender the permit to any 
Division office. If you do so before the season 
opening date, the Division can waive the wait-
ing period and reinstate your bonus points. 

Reallocated permits and 
costs

Any limited-entry permit surrendered to 
the Division shall be reallocated through the 
drawing process. The Division will make a rea-
sonable effort to contact the next person listed 
on the alternate drawing list. Any person who 
accepts the offered reallocated permit must 
pay the applicable permit fee. The realloca-
tion process will continue for all surrendered 

If you want to hunt it tomorrow,  
help us protect it today.

Turn In a Poacher
3337

permits until the Division has reallocated the 
permits or the season closes.

Please see Utah Code § 23-19-38 and Utah 
Admin. Rule R657-42 at wildlife.utah.gov/rules 
for more information on permit surrender and 
reallocation.

Duplicate licenses
Utah Code § 23-19-10 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-42

If your valid license, permit or tag is 
destroyed, lost or stolen, you may obtain a 
duplicate from a Division office or license 
agent for $10 or half of the price of the original 
license or permit, whichever is less.

The Division may waive the fee for a dupli-
cate unexpired license, permit or tag, provided 
you did not receive the original document.

http://wildlife.utah.gov/disabled
http://wildlife.utah.gov/refund
http://wildlife.utah.gov
http://wildlife.utah.gov/maps
http://wildlife.utah.gov/rules
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Waterfowl Guidebook, and you may 
possess only those firearms and archery 
equipment that are legal for taking 
upland game, turkey or waterfowl.)

•	Hunters who are licensed to hunt big 
game species during hunts that coincide 
with the bear archery hunt

•	Livestock owners who are protecting 
their livestock

•	Individuals who are licensed to carry a 
concealed weapon (You may not use 
your concealed firearm to hunt or take 
protected wildlife.)

Traps and trapping 
devices
Utah Code § 23-20-3 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-33-7

You may not take a bear with a trap, snare 
or any other trapping device, except as autho-
rized by the Division. Any bear accidentally 

•	A mechanical device that holds the bow 
at any increment of draw

•	A release aid that is not handheld or that 
supports the draw weight of the bow

•	A bow with an attached electronic 
range-finding device or a magnifying-
aiming device

Please remember that if you carry arrows 
in or on a vehicle, the arrows must be in an 
arrow quiver or a closed case.

If you obtain a bear limited-entry archery 
permit, you may not possess or be in control 
of a firearm—or have a firearm in your camp 
or motor vehicle—during a bear archery 
hunt. The only exceptions to this rule are the 
following:

•	Hunters who are licensed to hunt upland 
game or waterfowl (You must comply 
with the regulations in the Utah Upland 
Game & Turkey Guidebook or the Utah 

Firearms and hunting 
equipment

Several rules apply to the firearms and 
archery tackle you can use to harvest a bear 
in Utah. 

Firearms
Utah Code § 23-20-3 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-33-6

To harvest a black bear, you may use 
any firearm not capable of being fired fully 
automatic, except a firearm using a rimfire 
cartridge.

Archery equipment
Utah Code § 23-20-3 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-33-6

To hunt a bear with archery tackle, your 
equipment must meet all of the following 
requirements:

•	Your bow must have a minimum pull 
of 40 pounds at the draw or the peak, 
whichever comes first.

•	Your arrowheads must have two or more 
sharp-cutting edges that cannot pass 
through a 7/8 inch ring. If you’re using 
expanding arrowheads, the arrowheads 
must have two or more sharp-cutting 
edges that cannot pass through a 7/8 
inch ring when expanded.

•	Your arrows must be at least 20 inches 
long, from the tip of the arrowhead to 
the tip of the nock, and must weigh at 
least 300 grains.

You may not use any of the following 
archery equipment to take a bear:

•	A crossbow (please see page 16 for an 
exception to this rule)

•	Arrows with chemically treated or 
explosive arrowheads

Hunting hours
Utah Code § 23-20-3 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-33-5

During the spring and fall seasons, you 
may pursue or take bear from 30 minutes 
before official sunrise until 30 minutes after 
official sunset. During the summer pursuit sea-
son, you can pursue bears from 5 a.m. until 30 
minutes after official sunset. For season dates, 
see the hunt tables that begin on page 28.

Checkpoints and 
officer contacts
Utah Code § 23-20-25

To help the Division fulfill its responsibility 
as trustee and custodian of Utah’s wildlife, 
Division conservation officers and biologists 
monitor the taking and possession of black 
bears and the required permits, firearms 
and equipment used for hunting. You should 
expect to encounter conservation officers and 
biologists checking hunters in the field and at 
checkpoints.

If you’re contacted by a conservation 
officer, you must provide the officer with the 
items he or she requests, including any licenses 
and permits required for hunting, any devices 
used to participate in hunting and any game 
you’ve taken. These contacts allow the Division 
to collect valuable information about Utah’s 
black bear populations.

Aiding or assisting in 
violations
Utah Code § 23-20-23

You may not aid or assist another person to 
violate any provisions of the Wildlife Resources 
Code, rule or guidebook.

The penalty for aiding or assisting is the 
same as that imposed for the primary violation.

Are you allowed to 
possess a weapon?
Utah Code § 76-10-503 

It is illegal under Utah Code § 76-10-
503 to possess or use a firearm, muzzleload-
er, archery tackle or any other dangerous 
weapon if you:

•	Have been convicted of or are under 
indictment for any felony offense; 

•	Are on probation or parole for a felony 
offense; 

•	Are on parole from a secure facility; 
•	Have been adjudicated delinquent 

(juvenile) in the last seven years of 
an offense that, if committed by an 
adult, would have been a felony; 

•	Are an unlawful user of a controlled 
substance; 

•	Have been found not guilty by reason 
of insanity for a felony offense;

•	Have been found mentally incompe-
tent to stand trial for a felony offense;

•	Have been adjudicated mentally 
defective as provided in the federal 
Brady Handgun Violence Prevention 
Act;

•	Have been committed to a mental 
institution; 

•	Are an alien who is illegally in the 
United States; 

•	Have been dishonorably discharged 
from the armed forces; or 

•	Have renounced your United States 
citizenship. 

The purchase or possession of any 
hunting license, permit, tag or certificate 
of registration from the Division does not 
authorize the holder to legally possess or 
use a firearm, muzzleloader, archery tackle 
or any other dangerous weapon while hunt-
ing if they are otherwise restricted from 
possessing these weapons under Utah Code 
§ 76-10-503.

FIELD REQUIREMENTS
Several rules govern black bear hunting in Utah. These rules exist to help keep you safe and 
to ensure an ethical hunt. Please be familiar with the requirements for carrying and using 
firearms and archery tackle. You should also know the different types of hunting methods 
you may use and what you’re required to do with any bear you take. 
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In addition, the above restrictions 
do not apply to concealed carry permit 
holders carrying a concealed weapon. See 
wildlife.utah.gov/rules for more information.

Party hunting
Utah Admin. Rule R657-33-11

A person may not harvest a bear for 
another person.

Use of dogs
Utah Code § 23-20-3 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-33-12

You may use dogs to harvest or pursue 
bear only during the open seasons and hours 
listed in this guidebook.

During the summer pursuit season, you 
may not use more than eight dogs at one time 
to pursue a black bear on any unit. Other land-
management agencies may have additional 
restrictions. Please check with them before 
pursuing a bear on their property.

If you are the owner or handler of the dogs, 
you must have a valid bear permit in your pos-
session while you are harvesting or pursuing 
bear. However, there are some exceptions to 
this rule for guides and outfitters licensed in 
the state of Utah. 

If you are already a Utah-licensed guide or 
outfitter, see Pursuit restrictions on page 26. 
To learn more about becoming a Utah-licensed 
guide or outfitter, see page 14.

When dogs are used to pursue a bear, the 
licensed hunter who intends to take the bear 
must be present when the dogs are released. 
Then, the licensed hunter must continuously 
participate in the hunt until it ends.

When dogs are used to harvest a bear—
and there is not an open pursuit season—the 
owner or handler of the dogs must:

•	Have either a valid pursuit permit and be 
accompanied by a licensed hunter

  –OR–
•	Have a valid limited-entry permit (either 

archery or any legal weapon) for the 
limited-entry unit being hunted

Prohibited hunting 
methods
Utah Code §§ 23-20-3, 23-20-12 and Utah Admin. Rule 
R657-33-9

A black bear may be taken or pursued only 
during open seasons and open hours, using 
only the methods listed in this guidebook. 
Otherwise it is unlawful for any person to:

•	Possess, capture, kill, injure, drug, 
rope, trap, snare or in any way harm or 
transport a bear

•	Restrict or hinder a bear’s ability to 
escape after it has been pursued, chased, 
treed, cornered, legally baited or held 
at bay

You may not:
•	Engage in a canned hunt
•	Take a bear from an airplane or any 

other airborne vehicle or device, or from 
any motorized terrestrial, aquatic or 
recreational vehicle

Spotlighting
Utah Code §§§ 23-20-3, 76-10-504, 76-10-523 and Utah 
Admin. Rule R657-33-10

You may not use spotlighting to take a 
black bear.

You may not use a spotlight, headlight or 
other artificial light to locate any protected 
wildlife while having in your possession a 
firearm or other weapon or device that could 
be used to take or injure protected wildlife. 

The use of a spotlight or other artificial 
light in any area where protected wildlife are 
generally found is prima facie evidence of 
attempting to locate protected wildlife. (Prima 
facie evidence means that if you’re spotlight-
ing, the burden of proof falls on you to prove 
that you were not attempting to locate 
protected wildlife.) 

The provisions of this section do not apply 
to the use of the headlights of a motor vehicle 
or other artificial light in a usual manner 
where there is no attempt or intent to locate 
protected wildlife. 

•	From a vehicle 
•	From, upon or across any highway 
•	At power lines or signs
•	At railroad equipment or facilities, 

including any sign or signal 
•	Within Utah state park camp or picnic 

sites, overlooks, golf courses, boat ramps 
or developed beaches 

•	Without written permission from the 
owner or property manager, within 600 
feet of:

•	A house, dwelling or any other 
building 

•	Any structure in which a domestic 
animal is kept or fed, including a 
barn, poultry yard, corral, feeding 
pen or stockyard

State parks
Utah Admin. Rule R657-33-8 and R651-614-4

Hunting any wildlife is prohibited within 
the boundaries of all state park areas, except 
those designated open to hunting by the Divi-
sion of Parks and Recreation in Utah Admin. 
Rule R651-614-4. 

Hunting with rifles, handguns or 
muzzleloaders in park areas designated open 
to hunting is prohibited within one mile of all 
park facilities, including buildings, camp or 
picnic sites, overlooks, golf courses, boat ramps 
and developed beaches. 

Hunting with shotguns or archery tackle 
is prohibited within one-quarter mile of the 
above areas.

Carrying a dangerous 
weapon while under the 
influence of alcohol or 
drugs
Utah Code § 76-10-528

You may not carry a dangerous weapon or 
hunt bear while under the influence of alcohol 
or drugs. 

caught in any trapping device must be released 
unharmed, and must not be pursued or taken.

You must obtain written permission from a 
Division representative before you remove the 
carcass of a bear from any trapping device. The 
carcass remains the property of the state of 
Utah and must be surrendered to the Division.

Loaded firearms in a 
vehicle
Utah Code §§§§ 76-10-502, 76-10-504, 76-10-505 and 
76-10-523

You may not carry a loaded firearm in or on 
a vehicle unless you meet all of the following 
conditions:

•	You own the vehicle or have permission 
from the vehicle’s owner.

•	The firearm is a handgun.
•	You are 18 years of age or older.

A pistol, revolver, rifle or shotgun is 
considered to be loaded when there is an 
unexpended cartridge, shell or projectile in the 
firing position.

Pistols and revolvers are also considered 
to be loaded when an unexpended cartridge, 
shell or projectile is in a position whereby the 
manual operation of any mechanism once 
would cause the unexpended cartridge, shell 
or projectile to be fired.

A muzzleloading firearm is considered 
loaded when it is capped or primed and has a 
powder charge and ball or shot in the barrel or 
cylinders. 

The firearm restrictions in this section do 
not apply to concealed firearm permit holders, 
provided the person is not utilizing the con-
cealed firearm to hunt or take wildlife.

Areas where you cannot 
discharge a firearm
Utah Code § 76-10-508 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-12

You may not discharge a dangerous 
weapon or firearm under any of the following 
circumstances: 

http://wildlife.utah.gov/rules
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Tagging requirements
Utah Code §§ 23-20-3 and 23-20-30 and Utah Admin. Rule 
R657-33-15

Before you move the bear’s carcass or leave 
the site of the kill, you must tag the carcass 
with a temporary possession tag. The tag is 
only valid for 48 hours after the date of kill and 
must remain attached to the pelt or unskinned 
carcass until the permanent possession tag is 
attached. 

To tag a carcass with a temporary posses-
sion tag, you should perform the following 
steps:

•	Completely detach the tag from the 
permit

•	Completely remove the notches that 
correspond with the date the animal was 
taken and the sex of the animal

•	Attach the tag to the carcass so that the 
tag remains securely fastened and visible

Note: You may not remove more than one 
notch indicating date or sex, nor tag more than 
one carcass using the same tag.

You may not hunt or pursue a bear after 
any of the notches have been removed from 
the tag or after the tag has been detached 
from the permit.

You may not possess a bear pelt or 
unskinned carcass without a valid permanent 
possession tag affixed to the pelt or unskinned 
carcass. This provision does not apply to a per-
son in possession of a properly tagged carcass 
or pelt within 48 hours after the kill, provided 
the person was issued and is in possession of a 
valid permit.

Evidence of sex and age
Utah Admin. Rule R657-33-16

Evidence of the bear’s sex must remain 
attached to the bear’s carcass or pelt until a 
Division employee attaches a permanent tag.

The permit holder must bring the pelt and 
skull to a conservation officer or Division office 
in an unfrozen condition. This allows Division 
biologists to gather management data. 

The Division will need time—sometimes 
a day or two—to review your request for a 
certificate of registration. Please keep that in 
mind when submitting your request.

If you want to move a bait station, you 
must first remove all materials used as bait 
from the original station. Then, you must apply 
for a new certificate of registration. The Divi-
sion will not issue a certificate of registration 
for your new station until you clean up your 
old station.

If you are interested in baiting on lands 
administered by the U.S. Forest Service or 
Bureau of Land Management, you must verify 
that these areas are open to baiting before you 
apply for a bear limited-entry archery permit. 
If you bait a bear illegally on federal lands, you 
can be prosecuted under federal law.

You can learn whether federal lands are 
open by contacting district offices. Baiting lo-
cations and applicable travel restrictions must 
be verified by the district supervisor before you 
can apply for a certificate of registration.

Areas generally closed to baiting stations 
by these federal agencies include:

•	Designated wilderness areas
•	Heavily used drainages or recreation 

areas
•	Critical watersheds

The Division will send a copy of the certifi-
cate of registration to the private landowner or 
appropriate district office of the land manage-
ment agency that manages the land where the 
bait station will be placed, as identified by the 
hunter on the application for a certificate of 
registration.

If you apply for a certificate of registration, 
there is a $10 nonrefundable application fee.

Possession and 
transportation

After you harvest a bear, there are several 
rules governing its possession and transporta-
tion. 

Rule R657-13 and in the 2014 Utah Fishing 
Guidebook. You may not use any other species 
of protected wildlife as bait.

You may use domestic livestock or its 
parts—including processed meat scraps—as 
bait, as long as you have all of the following 
documentation in your possession:

•	A certificate from a licensed veterinar-
ian that certifies the domestic livestock 
or its parts does not have a contagious 
disease, and that states the cause and 
date of death

•	A certificate of brand inspection or other 
proof of ownership or legal possession

You may not place bait in either of the 
following areas:

•	Within 100 yards of water, a public road 
or a designated trail

•	Within a half-mile of any permanent 
dwelling or campground

Note: There may be additional bait-place-
ment restrictions, depending upon historical 
human and bear activity—especially nuisance 
complaints—within any given area. 

Obtaining a certificate of 
registration
Utah Code § 23-20-3 

The Division issues certificates of registra-
tion only to hunters who have valid bear 
limited-entry archery permits.

You can obtain the certificate of registra-
tion by visiting the Division office in the region 
where you plan to set up your bait station.

To obtain a certificate of registration 
for baiting, you must provide the following 
information to the Division: 

•	The type of bait you will use
•	The GPS coordinates (UTM, including the 

datum, or latitude and longitude) of the 
bait station 

•	Written permission from the appropriate 
landowner if you want to bait and hunt 
on private land

Bear baiting
Utah Code § 23-20-3 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-33-13

You can only bait a bear if you obtain a 
bear premium limited-entry archery permit 
or a bear limited-entry archery permit.  You 
must also have a certificate of registration for 
baiting. 

You may not bait if you have a bear 
harvest-objective permit.

Only hunters listed on the certificate of 
registration may hunt over the bait station, 
and the certificate of registration must be in 
the hunters’ possession while hunting over the 
bait station.

Any person who tends a bait station must 
also be listed on the certificate of registration.

If you are listed on a bait-station certifi-
cate, please review the following sections for 
essential information about using bait and 
moving a bait station.

Using bait
Utah Code § 23-20-3 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-33-14

You may establish or use no more than two 
bait stations at one time during either open 
season. 

If a bait station lures a bear, you may not 
use a firearm or dogs to take the bear. With a 
bear premium limited-entry archery permit 
or limited-entry archery permit, you may use 
archery tackle only, even when hunting bear 
away from the bait station.

Bait may not be contained in—nor can it 
include—any metal, glass, porcelain, plastic, 
cardboard or paper. The bait station must be 
marked with a sign provided by the Division 
and posted within 10 feet of the bait.

You may place bait only in areas open to 
hunting and only during the open seasons. 
All materials used as bait must be removed 
within 72 hours after the season ends or within 
72 hours after the person or persons who are 
registered for that bait station harvest a bear.

You may use nongame fish as bait, except 
fish listed as prohibited in Utah Admin. 
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person who killed it. A person may acquire only 
one bear annually.

Hunters interested in taking depredating 
bear may contact the Division, and the agency 
will call them as needed.

Extended and preseason 
hunts
Utah Admin. Rule R657-33-25

The Division may authorize an extended 
or preseason hunt on selected limited-entry 
hunting units to control depredation or nui-
sance problems.

The Division director may authorize only 
those hunters who drew a limited-entry 
permit to hunt in that area to participate in a 
preseason or extended season hunt.

Trespassing
Utah Code §§§ 23-20-14, 23-21-14 and 23-20-3.5

While taking wildlife or engaging in 
wildlife-related activities, you may not—
without permission—enter or remain on 
privately owned land that is: 

•	Cultivated
•	Properly posted
•	Fenced or enclosed in a manner designed 

to exclude intruders
In addition, you may not:
•	Enter or remain on private land when 

directed not to do so by the owner or a 
person acting for the owner.

•	Obstruct any entrance or exit to private 
property.

“Cultivated land” is land that is readily 
identifiable as land whose soil is loosened or 
broken up for the raising of crops, land used 
for the raising of crops, or a pasture that is 
artificially irrigated. 

“Permission” means written authorization 
from the owner or person in charge to enter 
upon private land that is cultivated or properly 

Livestock depredation
Utah Admin. Rule R657-33-23

If a bear is harassing, chasing, disturbing, 
harming, attacking or killing livestock (cattle, 
sheep, goats and turkeys), or has committed 
such an act within the past 72 hours, livestock 
owners have the following options:

•	In depredation cases, the livestock 
owner, an immediate family member or 
an employee of the owner on a regular 
payroll (not someone hired specifically to 
take the bear), may kill the bear.

•	A landowner or livestock owner may 
notify the Division of the depredation or 
any human health and safety concerns. 
The Division can then authorize a local 
hunter to take the offending bear or 
notify a USDA-Wildlife Services specialist.

•	The livestock owner may notify a 
USDA-Wildlife Services specialist of 
the depredation, and that specialist or 
another agency employee may then take 
the depredating bear.

A depredating bear may be taken at any 
time by a USDA-Wildlife Services special-
ist. This individual must be supervised by 
the USDA-Wildlife Services program and be 
performing their assigned duties in accordance 
with procedures approved by the Division.

A depredating bear may be taken with any 
weapon authorized for taking bear. It may also 
be taken with snares, if the Division director 
provides written authorization. The use of 
snares will be authorized only when numerous 
livestock have been killed by a depredating 
bear and the kills have been verified by Wildlife 
Services or Division personnel. 

After harvest, the depredating bear must 
be delivered to a Division office or employee 
within 72 hours. 

The pelt of the depredating bear shall 
remain the property of the state, unless the 
Division sells a bear damage permit to the 

Disposal of wildlife
Donating
Utah Code § 23-20-9 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-33-20

A person may donate protected wildlife or 
its parts to another person only at one of the 
following locations:

•	The residence of the donor
•	The residence of the recipient
•	A meat locker
•	A storage plant
•	A meat-processing facility 

A written statement of donation must be 
kept with the protected wildlife or parts show-
ing all of the following information:

•	The number and species of protected 
wildlife or parts donated

•	The date of donation
•	The license or permit number of the 

donor and the permanent possession tag 
number

•	The signature of the donor
A green pelt of any bear donated to 

another person must have a permanent 
possession tag affixed. Along with the pelt, 
the recipient must also retain the written 
statement of donation.

Purchasing or selling
Utah Code § 23-20-3 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-33-21

You may purchase or sell legally obtained, 
tanned bear hides. 

You may not purchase, sell, offer for sale or 
barter a green pelt, gall bladder, tooth, claw, 
paw or skull of any bear.

Wasting wildlife
Utah Code § 23-20-8 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-33-22

You may not waste—or permit to be 
wasted—any protected wildlife or its parts.

Note: The skinned carcass of a bear may 
be left in the field and does not constitute 
a waste of wildlife. However, the Division 
recommends that hunters remove the carcass 
from the field.

The Division may seize any pelt not ac-
companied by its skull.

Permanent tag
Utah Code § 23-20-3 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-33-17

The permit holder must take the harvested 
bear to a conservation officer or Division office 
within 48 hours after the date of kill. A Division 
employee will affix a permanent possession 
tag to the pelt or unskinned carcass.

If you need to reach a conservation officer 
after regular business hours, over the week-
end, or on a holiday, contact your local police 
dispatch office.

You may not possess an unskinned carcass 
or a green pelt after the 48-hour check-in pe-
riod without a permanent tag. In addition, you 
cannot ship a green pelt out of Utah or present 
it to a taxidermist if the pelt does not have a 
permanent possession tag attached.

Transporting a bear
Utah Admin. Rule R657-33-18

If you are a permit holder who has legally 
harvested a bear, you may transport the car-
cass under the following conditions:

•	The bear is properly tagged.
•	You have physical possession of the ap-

propriate permit.

Exporting a bear from 
Utah
Utah Admin. Rule R657-33-19

You may export a legally taken bear or 
its parts if you have a valid bear permit, and 
the bear is properly tagged with a permanent 
possession tag.

You may not ship a bear pelt from Utah—
or cause one to be shipped—without first 
obtaining a shipping permit issued by an 
authorized Division representative.
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entry permit (either archery or any legal 
weapon).

Pursuit permits
If you have a valid pursuit permit, you 

may pursue bears in the following areas and 
seasons:

•	Any unit that is not designated as re-
stricted during all three pursuit seasons. 

•	Any restricted pursuit unit during the 
spring and fall pursuit seasons. 

You may not pursue a bear on any of the 
restricted pursuit units during either of the 
summer pursuit seasons.

You may purchase a pursuit permit at any 
time from Division offices, license agents and 
at wildlife.utah.gov.

Eligible hunters may obtain both a bear 
pursuit permit and a bear limited-entry permit 
(either archery or any legal weapon).

Guides and outfitters
If you are a Utah-licensed guide or outfit-

ter—and you charge a customer more than 
$100 for a bear hunting or pursuit trip—you 
do not have to purchase a separate bear pur-
suit permit to guide that customer in the field.

Guides and outfitters must be licensed 
to operate in the state of Utah before they 
can legally accompany hunters in the field to 
pursue or harvest a bear. To learn more about 
this requirement, see the box on page 14.

General restrictions
Even with a pursuit permit (or a restricted 

pursuit permit), you may not perform any of 
the following actions:

•	Pursue a cub or a female bear with cubs
•	Repeatedly pursue, chase, tree, corner 

or hold at bay the same bear during the 
same day

•	Possess a firearm or any device that could 
be used to kill a bear while pursuing 
bear, unless you are licensed to carry a 
concealed weapon

Restricted pursuit permits
If you have a valid restricted pursuit 

permit, you may pursue bears in the following 
areas and seasons:

•	The restricted pursuit unit and season 
listed on your permit

•	Any restricted pursuit unit during the 
spring and fall pursuit seasons 

•	Any unit that is not designated as re-
stricted during all three pursuit seasons

You may not pursue bears in the other 
restricted pursuit units during either of the 
summer pursuit seasons. 

Individuals who combine packs of dogs to 
pursue a bear during either summer season 
on a restricted pursuit unit must comply with 
the eight-dog limit. They must also have at 
least one restricted pursuit permit in their 
possession.

On a restricted pursuit unit, the dog owner 
must remain close enough to the permit 
holder to maintain visual contact and verbal 
communication without the assistance of any 
electronic device. The only time a dog owner 
may separate from the pursuit-permit holder 
is to retrieve dogs that leave the pack. The dog 
owner must do all of the following:

•	Take reasonable steps to keep the pack 
together before and during pursuit

•	Only separate from the permit holder to 
retrieve stray dogs (and not actively pur-
sue a bear during the retrieval process)

•	Immediately release any bear that is 
incidentally treed or held at bay by the 
stray dogs

See the table on page 33 for detailed 
information about restricted pursuit units and 
season dates.

You may apply for a restricted pursuit per-
mit in the state’s bear drawing, beginning Feb. 
10, 2014. See page 11 for more information 
on how to apply for a permit.

Eligible hunters may obtain both a bear 
restricted pursuit permit and a bear limited-

Harvest and pursuit 
restrictions
Utah Code § 23-20-3 and Utah Admin. Rules R657-33-25 and 
R657-33-26 

Depending on the type of permit you 
obtain, various restrictions apply.

Harvest restrictions 
If you obtain a valid permit to harvest a 

bear, you may take only one bear in the season 
and area specified on your permit. Likewise, 
you may use only the weapon listed on your 
permit.

There’s no limit to the number of dogs you 
may use to harvest a bear.

If you are the owner or handler of dogs 
being used to harvest a bear—and there is not 
an open pursuit season—you must:

•	Have either a valid pursuit permit and be 
accompanied by a licensed hunter

  –OR–
•	Have a valid permit for the unit being 

hunted
You may harvest any bear—except a cub 

or a female accompanied by cubs—during the 
seasons listed in the hunt tables beginning on 
page 28.

Important: You may be able to deter-
mine the sex of a black bear by the size of the 
animal’s track. There is an 86 percent chance 
that a black bear track with a front paw width 
of 4.5 inches or wider is a male bear. The Divi-
sion recommends that you pursue or harvest 
only male bears.

Pursuit restrictions
A pursuit permit of any kind does not 

allow you to kill a bear. 
During the summer pursuit season, you 

may not use more than eight dogs at one time 
to pursue a black bear on any unit. 

Pursuit restrictions differ, depending on 
type of permit you have. 

posted. Permission must include all of the 
following details: 

•	The signature of the owner or person in 
charge 

•	The name of the person being given 
permission 

•	The appropriate dates 
•	A general description of the land 

“Properly posted” means that signs 
prohibiting trespass—or bright yellow, bright 
orange or fluorescent paint—are clearly 
displayed at all corners, on fishing streams 
crossing property lines, and on roads, gates 
and rights-of-way entering the land. Or, they 
are displayed in a manner that is visible to a 
person in the area. 

You may not post private property you 
do not own or legally control or land that is 
open to the public as provided by Utah Code 
§ 23-21-4. In addition, it is unlawful to take 
protected wildlife or its parts while trespassing 
in violation of Utah Code § 23-20-14. 

You are guilty of a class B misdemeanor 
if you violate any provision described in this 
section. Your license, tag or permit privileges 
may also be suspended.

Obtain permission to 
hunt private property

If you want to hunt on private prop-
erty, you must obtain written permission 
from the landowner before you can hunt. 
Ideally, you should have permission 
before you even apply for a permit. 

If you obtain written permission in 
advance, you know you’ll be able to use 
the permit if you draw it.

The Division cannot guarantee access 
to private land, and the agency does not 
have the names of landowners who own 
property where hunts occur.

http://wildlife.utah.gov
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HUNT TABLES

Spring limited-entry hunts
Permit fee: Resident $83, Nonresident $308.
Use the 4-digit hunt number to apply. Bonus point code: BER

Hunt Unit Season dates Res. Nonres.

7000 Beaver April 5–June 2 9 1

7001 Book Cliffs, Bitter Creek/South April 5–May 28 22 2

7002 Cache/East Canyon/Morgan Rich/
Ogden

April 5–June 2 3 0

7003 Central Mtns, Manti-North April 5–June 2 17 2

7004 Central Mtns, Manti-South April 5–June 2 4 0

7005 Central Mtns, Nebo April 5–June 2 13 1

7006 Chalk Creek/Kamas/North Slope, 
Summit

April 5–June 2 4 1

7007 Fillmore, Pahvant April 5–May 28 1 0

7008 La Sal April 5–May 28 31 4

7009 Mt Dutton April 5–May 28 2 0

7010 Nine Mile April 5–May 28 22 3

7011 North Slope, Daggett-Three Corners April 5–June 2 5 1

7012 Panguitch Lake/Zion April 5–May 28 7 1

7013 Paunsaugunt April 5–May 28 2 0

7014 Plateau, Boulder/Kaiparowits April 5–June 2 21 2

7015 Plateau, Fishlake/Thousand Lakes April 5–May 28 4 0

7016 San Juan April 5–May 28 31 4

7017 South Slope, Bonanza/Diamond Mtn/
Vernal

April 5–June 2 17 2

7018 South Slope, Yellowstone April 5–June 2 9 1

7019 Wasatch Mtns, West April 5–June 2 31 4

HUNT TABLES

Fall limited-entry hunts
Permit fee: Resident $83, Nonresident $308.
Use the 4-digit hunt number to apply. Bonus point code: BER

Hunt Unit Season dates Res. Nonres.

7100 Beaver Aug. 23–Sept. 29 5 1

7101 Book Cliffs, Bitter Creek/South Aug. 23–Sept. 29, 
Nov. 1–Nov. 20

5 1

7102 Cache/East Canyon/Morgan Rich/
Ogden

Aug. 23–Sept. 29, 
Nov. 1–Nov. 20

1 0

7103 Central Mtns, Manti-North Aug. 23–Sept. 29, 
Nov. 1–Nov. 20

4 1

7104 Central Mtns, Manti-South Aug. 23–Sept. 29, 
Nov. 1–Nov. 20

8 1

7105 Central Mtns, Nebo Aug. 23–Sept. 29, 
Nov. 1–Nov. 20

4 0

7106 Chalk Creek/Kamas/North Slope, 
Summit

Aug. 23–Sept. 29, 
Nov. 1–Nov. 20

5 1

7107 Fillmore, Pahvant Aug. 23–Sept. 29, 
Nov. 1–Nov. 20

1 0

7108 La Sal Aug. 19–Sept. 13, 
Nov. 1–Nov. 20

4 1

7109 Monroe Aug. 23–Sept. 29, 
Nov. 1–Nov. 20

1 0

7110 Mt Dutton Aug. 23–Sept. 29, 
Nov. 1–Nov. 20

1 0

7111 Nine Mile Aug. 23–Sept. 29 13 2

7112 North Slope, Daggett-Three Corners Aug. 23–Sept. 29, 
Nov. 1–Nov. 20

4 0

7113 Panguitch Lake/Zion Aug. 23–Sept. 29, 
Nov. 1–Nov. 20

4 1

7114 Paunsaugunt Aug. 23–Sept. 29, 
Nov. 1–Nov. 20

2 0

7115 Plateau, Boulder/Kaiparowits Aug. 23–Sept. 29, 
Nov. 1–Nov. 20

11 1

The Division does not guarantee access to any private or public land. Hunt unit boundaries may include private 
property or other excluded areas. Hunters must research land accessibility before hunting.

The Division does not guarantee access to any private or public land. Hunt unit boundaries may include private 
property or other excluded areas. Hunters must research land accessibility before hunting.
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Hunt Unit Season dates Res. Nonres.

7116 Plateau, Fishlake/Thousand Lakes Aug. 23–Sept. 29, 
Nov. 1–Nov. 20

2 0

7117 San Juan Aug. 19–Sept. 13, 
Nov. 1–Nov. 20

4 1

7118 South Slope, Bonanza/Diamond 
Mtn/Vernal

Aug. 23–Sept. 29, 
Nov. 1–Nov. 20

6 1

7119 South Slope, Yellowstone Aug. 23–Sept. 29, 
Nov. 1–Nov. 20

4 1

7120 Wasatch Mtns, Avintaquin/Currant 
Creek

Aug. 23–Sept. 29, 
Nov. 1–Nov. 20

8 1

7121 Wasatch Mtns, West Aug. 23–Sept. 29, 
Nov. 1–Nov. 20

9 1

Fall limited-entry hunts (continued)

HUNT TABLES

Premium limited-entry hunts
Permit fee: Resident $166, Nonresident $475.
Use the 4-digit hunt number to apply. Bonus point code: BER

Hunt Unit Season dates Res. Nonres.

7300 Book Cliffs, Bitter Creek/South April 5–May 28, 
Aug. 23–Sept. 29, 
Nov. 1–Nov. 20

3 0

7301 Book Cliffs, Little Creek Roadless* April 5–June 2, 
Aug. 23–Nov. 20

1 0

7302 Central Mtns, Manti-North April 5–June 2, 
Aug. 23–Sept. 29, 
Nov. 1–Nov. 20

3 0

7303 Central Mtns, Manti-South April 5–June 2, 
Aug. 23–Sept. 29, 
Nov. 1–Nov. 20

2 0

7304 Central Mtns, Nebo April 5–June 2, 
Aug. 23–Sept. 29, 
Nov. 1–Nov. 20

2 0

7305 Chalk Creek/Kamas/North Slope, 
Summit

April 5–June 2, 
Aug. 23–Sept. 29, 
Nov. 1–Nov. 20

1 0

7306 La Sal April 5–May 28, 
Aug. 19–Sept. 13, 
Nov. 1–Nov. 20

4 1

7307 North Slope, Daggett-Three Corners April 5–June 2, 
Aug. 23–Sept. 29, 
Nov. 1–Nov. 20

1 0

7308 Panguitch Lake/Zion April 5–May 28, 
Aug. 23–Sept. 29, 
Nov. 1–Nov. 20

2 0

7309 Plateau, Boulder/Kaiparowits April 5–June 2, 
Aug. 23–Sept. 29, 
Nov. 1–Nov. 20

4 0

* Spot-and-stalk only hunt; includes the month of October

Spot-and-stalk limited-entry hunts
Permit fee: Resident $83, Nonresident $308.
Use the 4-digit hunt number to apply. Bonus point code: BER

Hunt Unit Season dates Res. Nonres.

7200 Book Cliffs, Little Creek Roadless April  5–June 2 4 1

7201 Book Cliffs, Little Creek Roadless Aug. 23–Nov. 20 4 0

7202 La Sal Oct. 7–28 27 3

7203 San Juan Oct. 7–28 27 3

The Division does not guarantee access to any private or public land. Hunt unit boundaries may include private 
property or other excluded areas. Hunters must research land accessibility before hunting.

The Division does not guarantee access to any private or public land. Hunt unit boundaries may include private 
property or other excluded areas. Hunters must research land accessibility before hunting.

HUNT TABLES
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Hunt Unit Season dates Res. Nonres.

7310 Plateau, Fishlake/Thousand Lakes April 5–May 28, 
Aug. 23–Sept. 29, 
Nov. 1–Nov. 20

1 0

7311 San Juan April 5–May 28, 
Aug. 19–Sept. 13, 
Nov. 1–Nov. 20

4 1

7312 South Slope, Bonanza/Diamond 
Mtn/Vernal

April 5–June 2, 
Aug. 23–Sept. 29, 
Nov. 1–Nov. 20

3 0

7313 South Slope, Yellowstone April 5–June 2, 
Aug. 23–Sept. 29, 
Nov. 1–Nov. 20

2 0

7314 Wasatch Mtns, West April 5–June 2, 
Aug. 23–Sept. 29, 
Nov. 1–Nov. 20

4 1

Premium limited-entry hunts (continued) Restricted pursuit units
Permit fee: Resident $30, Nonresident $135. Use the 4-digit hunt number to apply.
Note: A restricted pursuit permit is valid on the unit and during the season listed on your permit, during the 
spring and fall pursuit seasons on any restricted pursuit unit, and during all three pursuit seasons on any pursuit 
unit that is not designated as restricted.

Early summer season

Hunt Unit Season dates Res. Nonres.

7400 Book Cliffs July 7–July 21 25 3

7401 La Sal July 7–July 21 12 1

7402 San Juan July 7–July 21 7 1

Late summer season

Hunt Unit Season dates Res. Nonres.

7403 Book Cliffs July 28–Aug. 10 25 3

7404 La Sal July 28–Aug. 10 4 1

7405 San Juan July 28–Aug. 10 18 2

HUNT TABLES

Harvest-objective hunts
Permit fee: Resident $83, Nonresident $308.

Unit Season dates Quota Comments

Beaver Oct. 7–Nov. 20 10 total, or 4 
females

No bait allowed 
No dogs allowed

Nine Mile Oct. 7–Nov. 20 10, including 
fall harvest

No bait allowed 
No dogs allowed

Wasatch Mtns, Avintaquin/Currant 
Creek

April 5–June 2 10 No bait allowed

The Division does not guarantee access to any private or public land. Hunt unit boundaries may include private 
property or other excluded areas. Hunters must research land accessibility before hunting.

The Division does not guarantee access to any private or public land. Hunt unit boundaries may include private 
property or other excluded areas. Hunters must research land accessibility before hunting.

HUNT TABLES
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Public lands means any lands owned by the 
state, a political subdivision or independent 
entity of the state, or the United States—ex-
cluding Native American Trust Lands—that 
are open to the public for purposes of engag-
ing in pursuit.

Pursue means to chase, tree, corner or hold a 
bear at bay.

Resident means a person who has a fixed 
permanent home and principal establishment 
in Utah for six consecutive months immedi-
ately preceding the purchase of a license or 
permit, AND DOES NOT claim residency for 
hunting, fishing or trapping in any other state 
or country.

An individual retains Utah residency if he 
or she leaves Utah to serve in the armed forces 
of the United States, or for religious or educa-
tional purposes, and does NOT claim residency 
for hunting, fishing or trapping in any other 
state or country.

Members of the armed forces of the United 
States and dependents are residents as of 
the date the member reports for duty under 
assigned orders in Utah, if:

•	The member is NOT on temporary duty 
in Utah and does NOT claim residency for 
hunting, fishing or trapping in any other 
state or country. 

•	The member presents a copy of his or her 
assignment orders to a Division office to 
verify the member’s qualification as a 
resident. 

A nonresident attending an institution of 
higher learning in Utah as a full-time student 
may qualify as a resident if the student has 
been present in Utah for 60 consecutive days 
immediately preceding the purchase of the 
license or permit and does NOT claim residency 
for hunting, fishing or trapping in any other 
state or country. 

Limited-entry hunt means any hunt that 
is identified as limited-entry and listed in the 
hunt table of this guidebook, and that does not 
include harvest-objective hunts or pursuit only.

Limited-entry permit means any permit 
obtained for a limited-entry hunt by any 
means, including conservation permits and 
sportsman permits.

Livestock means cattle, sheep, goats and 
turkeys.

Nonresident means a person who does not 
qualify as a resident.

Permit means a document, including a 
stamp, which grants authority to engage 
in specified activities under the Wildlife 
Resources Code or a rule or proclamation of the 
Wildlife Board.

Person means an individual, association, 
partnership, government agency, corporation 
or an agent of the foregoing.

Premium limited-entry hunt means any 
hunt that is identified as premium limited-
entry and listed in the hunt table of this 
guidebook, and that does not include harvest-
objective hunts or pursuit only.

Premium limited-entry permit means 
any permit obtained for a premium limited-
entry hunt listed in the hunt table of this 
guidebook. 

Private lands means any lands that are not 
public lands, excluding Native American Trust 
Lands.

Protected wildlife means the animals 
defined in the “wildlife” definition below. It 
does not include coyote, field mouse, gopher, 
ground squirrel, jackrabbit, muskrat and 
raccoon.

Compensation means anything of economic 
value in excess of $100 that is paid, loaned, 
granted, given, donated or transferred to a dog 
handler for or in consideration of pursuing bear 
for any purpose.

Cub means a bear less than one year of age.

Cultivated land means land that is readily 
identifiable as any of the following:

•	Land whose soil is loosened or broken up 
for the raising of crops

•	Land that is used for the raising of crops
•	Pasturage that is artificially irrigated

Division means the Division of Wildlife 
Resources.

Dog handler means the person in the field 
that is responsible for transporting, releasing, 
tracking, controlling, managing, training, com-
manding and retrieving the dogs involved in 
the pursuit. The owner of the dogs is presumed 
the dog handler when the owner is in the field 
during pursuit.

Evidence of sex means the sex organs of a 
bear, including a penis, scrotum or vulva.

Green pelt means the untanned hide or skin 
of any bear.

Harvest-objective hunt means any hunt 
that is identified as harvest-objective in the 
hunt table of this guidebook.

Harvest-objective permit means any 
permit valid on harvest-objective units.

Harvest-objective unit means any unit 
designated as harvest-objective in the hunt 
table of this guidebook.

Hunting means to take or pursue a reptile, 
amphibian, bird or mammal by any means.

Accompany means that on a restricted 
pursuit unit, the dog owner must remain close 
enough to the permit holder to maintain visual 
contact and verbal communication without 
the assistance of any electronic device. The 
only time a dog owner may separate from the 
pursuit-permit holder is to retrieve dogs that 
leave the pack. The dog owner must do all of 
the following:

•	Take reasonable steps to keep the pack 
together before and during pursuit

•	Only separate from the permit holder to 
retrieve stray dogs (and not actively pur-
sue a bear during the retrieval process)

•	Immediately release any bear that is 
incidentally treed or held at bay by the 
stray dogs

Bait means any lure containing animal, 
mineral or plant materials.

Baiting means the placing, exposing, depos-
iting, distributing or scattering of bait to lure, 
attract or entice bear on or over any area.

Bear means Ursus americanus, commonly 
known as black bear.

Canned hunt means that a bear is treed, 
cornered, held at bay or its ability to escape 
is otherwise restricted for the purpose of 
allowing a person who was not a member of 
the initial hunting party to arrive and take the 
bear.

Carcass means the dead body of an animal 
or its parts.

Certificate of registration means a docu-
ment issued under the Wildlife Resources Code, 
or any rule or proclamation of the Wildlife 
Board granting authority to engage in activi-
ties not covered by a license, permit or tag.

DEFINITIONS
Utah Code § 23-13-2 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-33-2
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There is sufficient information on the ap-
plication to process the application, including 
personal information, hunt information, and 
sufficient payment.

Applications missing any of the above 
items may still be considered valid if the 
application is timely corrected through the 
application correction process.

Waiting period means a specified period of 
time that a person who has obtained a bear 
permit must wait before applying for any other 
bear permit.

Wildlife means crustaceans—including 
brine shrimp and crayfish—and all vertebrate 
animals living in nature, except feral animals.

Written permission means written autho-
rization from the owner or person in charge to 
enter upon private lands. It must include all of 
the following items:

•	The name and signature of the owner or 
person in charge

•	The address and phone number of the 
owner or person in charge

•	The name of the dog handler given 
permission to enter the private lands

•	A brief description of the pursuit activity 
authorized

•	The appropriate dates
•	A general description of the property

A Utah resident license or permit is invalid 
if a resident license for hunting, fishing or trap-
ping is purchased in any other state or country. 

An individual DOES NOT qualify as a 
resident if he or she is an absentee landowner 
paying property tax on land in Utah. 

Restricted pursuit unit means a bear 
pursuit unit where pursuit is allowed only by 
a dog handler who meets at least one of the 
following requirements:

•	Possesses a special pursuit permit issued 
for that particular unit

•	Possesses or is accompanied by a hunter 
who possesses a limited-entry bear 
permit for the unit, and pursuit must 
occur within the area and during the 
season established for the limited-entry 
bear permit

•	Is engaged in pursuit for compensation 
(see Compensation above)

Spot-and-stalk means that a hunter must 
locate, pursue and harvest a bear without 
using hounds or bait.

Tag means a card, label or other identification 
device issued for attachment to the carcass of 
protected wildlife.

Take means to hunt, pursue, harass, catch, 
capture, possess, angle, seine, trap or kill any 
protected wildlife; or attempt any of the above 
actions.

Trapping means taking protected wildlife 
with a trapping device.

Valid application means it is for a species 
for which the applicant is eligible to possess 
a permit;

There is a hunt for that species regardless 
of estimated permit numbers; and
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