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WHAT’S NEW
Swan application details online: Visit 
wildlife.utah.gov/swan for the information you 
need in order to apply for a swan permit. 

Higher canvasback limit: During Utah’s 
2015–16 waterfowl season, you may keep up 
to two canvasbacks each day. See all of the bag 
and possession limits on pages 26–27. 

Youth hunting age: To be considered a 
youth for all waterfowl hunting, you must be 
15 years old or younger on Sept. 19, 2015. 

Youth Waterfowl Hunt: Utah’s Youth 
Waterfowl Hunt will be held on Sept. 19, 2015. 
For details, see the article on page 28.

Rest areas and no-shooting areas: 
Portions of Utah’s waterfowl management 
areas (WMAs) have been designated either 
rest areas or no-shooting areas. For details, see 
page 19.

Increase in federal stamp fee: The U.S. 
Congress recently approved an increased fee 
for the federal duck stamp. Each stamp now 
costs $25. For details on how to obtain a 
federal stamp, see page 6.

Check season dates: Season dates change 
every year. For details, see the tables that start 
on page 26.

Also remember

You must register in the HIP every 
season: You must obtain a Migratory Bird 
Harvest Information Program (HIP) number 
for the 2015–2016 season to hunt waterfowl 
in Utah this fall. Your number from last season 
is not valid. The HIP number you obtain for 
the 2015–2016 season is valid from March 11, 
2015 through March 10, 2016. Please see page 
10 for more information. 
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CONTACT US
Turn in a poacher
Phone: 1-800-662-3337
Email: turninapoacher@utah.gov
Online: wildlife.utah.gov/utip

Division offices
Offices are open 8 a.m.–5 p.m.,  
Monday through Friday.

Salt Lake City
1594 W North Temple
Box 146301
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6301
801-538-4700

Central Region
1115 N Main Street
Springville, UT 84663
801-491-5678

Northeastern Region
318 N Vernal Avenue
Vernal, UT 84078
435-781-9453

Northern Region
515 E 5300 S
Ogden, UT 84405
801-476-2740

Southeastern Region
319 N Carbonville Road, Ste A
Price, UT 84501
435-613-3700

Southern Region
1470 N Airport Road
Cedar City, UT 84721
435-865-6100

Washington County Field Office
451 N SR-318
Hurricane, UT 84737
435-879-8694

A CLOSER LOOK 
AT THE RULES

This guidebook summarizes Utah’s 
waterfowl hunting laws and rules. Although 
it is a convenient quick-reference document 
for Utah’s waterfowl regulations, it is not an 
all-encompassing resource. 

For an in-depth look at the state’s 
waterfowl hunting laws and rules, visit 
wildlife.utah.gov/rules. 

You can use the references in the guide-
book—such as Utah Code § 23-20-3 and 
Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-6—to search the 
Division’s website for the detailed statute or 
rule that underpins the guidebook summary.

If you have questions about a particular 
rule, call or visit the nearest Division office.  

Who makes the rules?
The Utah Wildlife Board passes the rules 

summarized in this guidebook. 
There are seven board members, and 

each serves a six-year term. Appointed by the 
governor, board members are not Division 
employees.

The Division’s director serves as the 
board’s executive secretary but does not have 
a vote on wildlife policies.

Before board members make changes to 
wildlife rules, they listen to recommendations 
from Division biologists. They also receive 
input from the public and various interest 
groups via the regional advisory council (RAC) 
process.

 If you have feedback or suggestions for 
board members, you can find their contact 
information online at wildlife.utah.gov.

Wildlife Board members

http://wildlife.utah.gov/swan
mailto:turninapoacher%40utah.gov?subject=
http://wildlife.utah.gov/utip
http://wildlife.utah.gov/rules
http://wildlife.utah.gov
https://www.facebook.com/UtahDWR
https://instagram.com/utahdwr/
https://www.pinterest.com/utahdwr/
https://www.youtube.com/user/UDWR
https://twitter.com/utahdwr
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Division funding: The Division is mostly 
funded by the sale of hunting and fishing 
licenses and through federal aid made possible 
by an excise tax on the sale of firearms and 
other hunting- and fishing-related equipment.

Department of the Interior and its bureaus 
prohibit discrimination on the basis of race, 
color, national origin, age, disability or sex. If 
you believe that you have been discriminated 
against in any program, activity or facility, or 
if you desire further information, please visit 
www.doi.gov/pmb/eeo/public-civil-rights.cfm.

Participate in the Waterfowl Slam: 
The slam is a fun, voluntary program that 
raises funds for waterfowl conservation. 
Adults can join for $20, and youth can join 
for $10. To learn more, visit page 7 or 
wildlife.utah.gov/slam.

Off-highway vehicles: Off-highway vehicles 
are not permitted on state waterfowl manage-
ment areas, except in areas that are posted 
open to OHV use. 

Burning phragmites during the hunt: 
This fall, as conditions permit, the Division 
will burn phragmites at a few waterfowl 
management areas. To stay up to date on any 
prescribed burns, visit twitter.com/UtahDWR. 

Corrections: If errors are found in this guide-
book after it is printed, the Division will correct 
them in the electronic copy that is posted 
online. Visit wildlife.utah.gov/guidebooks 
to view all of the Division’s guidebooks and 
proclamations.

Private lands: The Division cannot guaran-
tee access to any private land. If you plan to 
hunt—or engage in any other wildlife-related 
activities—on private land, you must obtain 
WRITTEN permission from the landowner or 
the landowner’s authorized representative. 

Protection from discrimination:  The 
Division receives federal financial assistance 
from the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. Under 
Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Section 
504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, Title II 
of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, 
the Age Discrimination Act of 1975, Title IX of 
the Education Amendments of 1972, the U.S. 

Buy your license over the phone: You 
can now buy a Utah hunting or combination 
license over the telephone. Just call 1-800-
221-0659. The line is staffed 24 hours a day, 
seven days a week. In addition to the fee for 
the license, you’ll also be charged a $2 transac-
tion fee for each item you buy.

Retrieving waterfowl: Before hunting in 
an area, make sure you can retrieve the birds 
you shoot. Because of mud or deep water, you 
may need chest waders, a dog or a boat. Not 
attempting to retrieve your waterfowl could 
result in a citation. 

Swan check-in and reporting: If you draw 
a 2015 swan permit, you are required to check 
in your swan and submit a harvest report. For 
more information about this requirement, see 
page 10.

Trial hunting program: This fall, people 
who haven’t hunted may be able to try it for 
the first time without taking Hunter Education. 
For details, see the article on page 9.

Don’t lose your hunting and fishing privileges
If you commit a wildlife violation, you could lose the privilege of hunting and fishing in Utah. 
The Utah Division of Wildlife Resources can suspend the license of 
anyone who knowingly, intentionally or recklessly violates wildlife 
laws. Your license can be suspended for a wildlife violation if:

•	 You are convicted. 
•	 You plead guilty or no contest.
•	 You enter a plea in abeyance or  

diversion agreement. 

Suspension proceedings are separate and inde-
pendent from criminal prosecution.  The Utah Division 
of Wildlife Resources may suspend your license privileges 
whether or not the court considers suspension in your 
criminal case.  You will be notified of any action against 
your privilege after criminal proceedings conclude. And 
remember, if your license is suspended in Utah, you  
may not be permitted to hunt or fish in most other 
states. (Visit ianrc.org to see a map of participating states.)

Mercury and ducks
Because of elevated mercury levels 

in three duck species—cinnamon teal, 
Northern shoveler and common golden-
eye—hunters should eat them only on 
a limited basis. You can read the latest 
consumption advisories for these species 
at waterfowladvisories.utah.gov. 

http://wildlife.utah.gov/guidebooks
http://waterfowladvisories.utah.gov
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Resident license fees

License Fee

365-day hunting license 
(age 13 and under)

$11

365-day hunting license 
(ages 14–17)

$16

365-day hunting license 
(ages 18–64)

$34

365-day hunting license 
(age 65 and older)

$25

Multi-year hunting 
license (age 18 and 
older)

$33 per year, up 
to five years

365-day combination*  
license (ages 14–17)

$20

365-day combination* 
license (ages 18–64)

$38

365-day combination* 
license (age 65 and 
older)

$29

Multi-year combination* 

license (age 18 and 
older)

$37 per year, up 
to five years

* A combination license allows you to hunt or fish in 
Utah and also allows you to fish with a second pole.

KEY DATES AND FEES
Nonresident license fees

License Fee

3-day small game license 
(any age)

$32

365-day hunting license 
(age 17 and younger)

$25

365-day hunting license 
(age 18 and older)

$65

Multi-year hunting 
license (up to five years) 
for age 18 and older

$64 per year, up 
to five years

365-day combination* 
license (age 17 and 
younger)

$29

365-day combination* 
license (age 18 and 
older)

$85

Multi-year combination* 
license (age 18 and 
older)

$84 per year, up 
to five years

* A combination license allows you to hunt or fish in 
Utah and also allows you to fish with a second pole.

Other fees

Federal migratory bird hunting and 
conservation stamp (16 years of 
age and older). These are available 
at U.S. post offices and some 
license-agent locations.

$25

Swan permit $15†

† You will be charged an additional $10 nonrefund-
able application fee.

2015–16 season dates

Youth Waterfowl Hunt 
(age 15 or younger)

Sept. 19

Swan Oct. 3–Dec. 13

Scaup Oct. 3–Dec. 27

Wilson’s snipe Oct. 3–Jan. 16

Ducks, mergansers, 
coots

Oct. 3–Jan. 16

Dark geese (inside the 
northern goose area)

Oct. 3–Jan. 16

Dark geese (inside the 
urban goose area)

Oct. 3–15 and 
Nov. 7–Feb. 7

Dark geese (inside the 
general goose area)

Oct. 3–15 and 
Oct. 24–Jan. 24

Light geese (inside the 
northern goose area)

Oct. 24–Jan. 16 
and Feb. 18–
March 10

Light geese (inside 
the general and urban 
goose areas)

Nov. 3–Feb. 7 and 
March 1–10

Swan application dates

Swan hunting application 
available online

Aug. 25, 2015

Application deadline Sept. 3, 2015

Drawing results available Sept. 16, 2015

Waterfowl Slam 
program

This year, the Division is continu-
ing its Waterfowl Slam program in 
partnership with multiple conservation 
organizations. Hunters who choose to 
join the program can earn different sizes 
and colors of bands for harvesting drakes 
of various species. 

To date, the Waterfowl Slam program 
has raised more than $20,000. That 
money goes directly into waterfowl 
habitat projects. 

This year, we intend to use the 
money we raise to complete a new unit 
at Ogden Bay Waterfowl Management 
Area. The new unit will provide an ad-
ditional hunting area and high-quality 
nesting and brood-rearing habitat for 
waterfowl.

Please consider participating in 
Utah’s Waterfowl Slam Program in 2015. 
To learn more about the slam, visit 
wildlife.utah.gov/slam.Applying for a swan 

permit
Utah Admin. Rule R657-62-22

To provide hunters with earlier access 
to information about the swan applica-
tion period and hunt, the Division has 
removed most of the swan information 
from this guidebook and put it online. 
You can learn more about applying for a 
swan permit at wildlife.utah.gov/swan.

Next year, you'll be able to find de-
tails on applying for a 2016 swan permit 
in late August.

http://wildlife.utah.gov/swan
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If you want to hunt a swan in Utah, you 
will also need to apply for and obtain a swan 
permit. For more information about swan 
permits, see the box on page 7.

Do you need a federal 
stamp?
Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-3

In addition to your hunting license, if 
you’re 16 years old or older, you must obtain a 
federal migratory bird hunting and conserva-
tion stamp. This stamp is commonly referred to 
as a duck stamp. 

You can purchase a duck stamp from 
your local post office, some license agents or 
by phone. The phone number is 1-800-782-
6724. You can also call this number to order 
additional duck stamps. Duck stamps are not 
available at Division offices.

After you buy your stamp, you must 
validate it by signing your name in ink across 
the face of the stamp. You must also carry your 
stamp with you while you’re hunting (most 

Approximately four to six weeks after you 
complete the course, you will receive your blue 
card by mail. 

You should also keep the following in 
mind:

•	Hunters under the age of 16 must be 
accompanied by an adult while hunting.

•	All hunting regulations, including season 
dates and bag limits, will apply.

•	Students who are planning to hunt out 
of state should allow enough time for 
their hunter education card to arrive in 
the mail.

New to Utah?
If you become a Utah resident, and you’ve 

completed a hunter education course in 
another state, province or country, you must 
obtain a Utah blue card before you can buy a 
resident hunting license. You can obtain a Utah 
blue card at any Division office by providing 
proof that you’ve completed a hunter educa-
tion course approved by the Division.

Do you have a license?
Utah Code § 23-19-1

You must purchase either a hunting license 
or a combination license to hunt waterfowl in 
Utah. Here’s the difference between the two 
licenses:

•	A hunting license allows you to hunt 
small game, including waterfowl and 
upland game.

•	A combination license allows you to fish 
and hunt small game in Utah. When you 
buy a combination license, you also get 
a price break compared to buying your 
hunting and fishing licenses separately. 

To purchase a license, visit wildlife.utah.gov 
or call 1-800-221-0659. You can also visit a 
license agent or any Division office. 

You must carry your license with you while 
you’re hunting, and you cannot alter your 
license, or transfer or lend it to another person.

Have you passed 
hunter education?
Utah Code § 23-19-11 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-23 

If you were born after Dec. 31, 1965, you 
must provide proof that you’ve passed a hunter 
education course approved by the Division 
before you can apply for or obtain a hunting 
license or a swan permit.

The only exception to this law is for indi-
viduals who are participating in the Division’s 
Trial Hunting Program. You can find details 
about the program on page 9 or by visiting 
wildlife.utah.gov/trial.

Proof of hunter education
You can prove that you’ve completed 

hunter education by obtaining a hunter educa-
tion card (called a “blue card” in Utah) or by 
using a hunting license from a previous year 
with your hunter education number noted on 
the license.

How to take hunter 
education

To get started, you should visit 
wildlife.utah.gov/huntereducation. You’ll see 
links to a complete list of traditional or online 
hunter education courses. Follow the instruc-
tions on the website to sign up for a course.

If you need assistance, please contact your 
local Division office or call 801-538-4727.

When you complete the course, your in-
structor will sign your course certificate, which 
will then become your hunting license. With a 
valid hunting license, you can also apply for or 
obtain permits in the Division’s hunt drawings. 

Are you old enough?
Utah Code § 23-19-11

In Utah, there are no age restrictions 
for waterfowl hunters. If you have passed a 
Division-approved hunter education course, 
then you can hunt waterfowl in Utah, regard-
less of your age.

Adults must accompany 
young hunters
Utah Code § 23-20-20

While hunting with any weapon, a person 
under 14 years old must be accompanied 
by his or her parent, legal guardian or other 
responsible person who is 21 years of age or 
older and who has been approved by the par-
ent or guardian. 

A person at least 14 years old and under 16 
years old must be accompanied by a person 21 
years of age or older while hunting with any 
weapon.

The Division encourages adults to be 
familiar with hunter education guidelines or to 
complete the hunter education course before 
accompanying youth into the field. 

While in the field, the youth and the adult 
must remain close enough for the adult to see 
and provide verbal assistance to the young 
hunter. Using electronic devices, such as 
walkie-talkies or cell phones, does not meet 
this requirement.

BASIC REQUIREMENTS
Obtaining the proper hunting license and registering for a Migratory Bird Harvest Informa-
tion Program (HIP) number are important steps to complete before hunting waterfowl 
in Utah. Depending on your age, you may also need a federal migratory bird hunting and 
conservation stamp. This section provides information about each of these items and how 
to obtain them.

Utah’s Trial Hunting 
Program
Utah Admin. Rule R657-68

Have you ever wanted to bring your 
spouse, child or friend along on a hunt 
and give them a chance to try hunting? 
Now, they can join you on your next duck 
or goose hunt.

Utah’s Trial Hunting Program allows 
anyone over the age of 12 to try hunting 
for a few years—while accompanied by 
a licensed hunter over the age of 21—
before taking a Hunter Education course.

The program applies to hunts for 
many different species, including ducks, 
geese and other waterfowl. To sign up for 
the program or to learn more about it, 
visit wildlife.utah.gov/trial.

http://wildlife.utah.gov
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more than three shells—to hunt light geese 
during the February/March season in all three 
of Utah’s goose areas. For season dates, see 
page 26.

Nontoxic shot and use of 
firearms, crossbows and 
archery tackle
50 CFR 20.21(j) and Utah Admin. Rules R657-9-8 and R657-9-9

A shotgun loaded with nontoxic shot is the 
only firearm you may discharge while hunting 
waterfowl or coot in any area of the state. (To 
learn what nontoxic shot is, please see page 
47 of this guide.) In addition, nontoxic shot 
is the only ammunition you may have in your 
possession while on federal refuges, the Scott 
M. Matheson wetland preserve, and the fol-
lowing waterfowl management areas:

•	Box Elder County—Harold S. Crane, 
Locomotive Springs, Public Shooting 
Grounds and Salt Creek

•	Daggett County—Brown’s Park
•	Davis County—Farmington Bay, Howard 

Slough and Ogden Bay
•	Emery County—Desert Lake
•	Juab County—Mills Meadow

Firearms, crossbows 
and archery tackle

Several rules apply to the types of shot-
guns, crossbows and archery tackle that may 
be used to take waterfowl in Utah.

Weapon requirements
50 CFR 20.21 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-7

You may take migratory game birds with 
any of the following:

•	 A shotgun no larger than 10 gauge
•	A crossbow
•	Archery equipment, including a draw 

lock
During most Utah waterfowl hunts, the 

shotgun you use cannot be capable of holding 
more than three shells (one in the chamber 
and two in the magazine).

Many shotguns can hold more than two 
shells in the magazine, but making these 
guns legal for waterfowl hunting is easy. An in-
expensive item, called a "shotgun plug," comes 
with most shotguns or you can purchase one at 
most sporting goods stores.

And don’t forget: you may use an 
unplugged shotgun—capable of holding 

If your 365-day license expires during the 
season, and you buy a new license, simply 
write your 2015–2016 HIP registration num-
ber—and its expiration date—on your new 
license. You do not need to get a second HIP 
number for the 2015–2016 season.

Valuable information
The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service started 

the HIP in the mid-1990s. The program pro-
vides biologists with valuable information that 
helps them manage the nation’s migratory 
game bird populations.

hunters place their stamp on the back of their 
hunting license).

If you’re 15 years of age or younger, you 
do not need a federal duck stamp to hunt wa-
terfowl, but if you turn 16 during the season, 
you must buy a stamp to hunt the remainder 
of the season.

Do you have a HIP 
number?
50 CFR 20.20 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-33

In addition to your license (and your duck 
stamp, if required), you must obtain a Migra-
tory Game Bird Harvest Information Program 
(HIP) registration number every season.

The number you obtained last season is 
not valid for this season.

HIP numbers for the 2015–2016 season 
are valid from March 11, 2015 through March 
10, 2016.

It’s easy to register
You can obtain your Utah HIP number in 

one of two ways: 
•	Register online at uthip.com.
•	Call 1-877-882-4744. If you have ques-

tions or need help obtaining your HIP 
number, please call 1-800-368-4683. 

You’ll need your hunting license to register, 
so make sure you have it with you before you 
log onto the website or call. It only takes about 
10 minutes to register.

Swan check 
and reporting 
requirements
Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-6

Harvest reporting for swan is manda-
tory. If you harvest a swan, you must 
bring the tagged swan or its head to a 
Division office, or the Bear River Migra-
tory Bird Refuge office, within three 
days of harvest. A Division or Refuge 
employee will help you complete your 
swan harvest report. 

If you did not hunt or did not harvest, 
you must still complete a swan harvest 
report within 30 days of the end of the 
hunt. To complete your report, visit 
www.utah-hunt.com/UT_Returncard or 
call toll-free 1-800-221-0659. Failure 
to return your harvest report or to have 
your swan checked by a Division or Ref-
uge employee will leave you ineligible to 
participate in next year’s swan drawing.

FIELD REGULATIONS
While hunting waterfowl in Utah, there are several requirements you must keep in mind 
to protect yourself and the resource. Please be familiar with the requirements for carrying 
and using shotguns, the different types of hunting methods you may use and what you’re 
required to do with any waterfowl you harvest.

Are you allowed to 
possess a weapon?
Utah Code §§ 76-10-503  and 76-10-512

It is illegal under Utah Code §§ 76-10-
503  and 76-10-512 to possess or use a 
firearm, muzzleloader or any other danger-
ous weapon if you have been charged or 
convicted of certain offenses.

The purchase or possession of any 
hunting license, permit, tag or certificate 

of registration from the Division does not 
authorize the holder to legally possess or 
use a firearm, muzzleloader or any other 
dangerous weapon while hunting if they 
are otherwise restricted from possessing 
these weapons under Utah Code.

To determine whether you are allowed 
to possess a weapon, please review the 
Utah Code sections listed above or contact 
the law enforcement agency that oversees 
your case.

http://www.uthip.com
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State parks
Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-30 and R651-614

Hunting any wildlife is prohibited within 
the boundaries of all state park areas, except 
those designated open to hunting by the Divi-
sion of Parks and Recreation in Utah Admin. 
Rule R651-614-4.

In park areas that are designated open 
to hunting, you are not permitted to use 
shotguns, crossbows or archery tackle within 
one-quarter mile of all park facilities, including 
buildings, camp or picnic sites, overlooks, golf 
courses, boat ramps and developed beaches.

In addition to the rules above, the Great 
Salt Lake Marina and posted areas adjacent to 
the marina are closed to hunting.

Waterfowl hunting, including the retrieval 
of downed birds, is also prohibited on all of 
Antelope Island except for the following areas:

•	100 yards beyond the existing shoreline 
from the Fielding Garr Ranch, proceeding 
around the north end of the island and 
then south to Elephant Head; and

•	below the upland vegetation line of the 
island from the Fielding Garr Ranch, 
proceeding around the south end of the 
island and then north to Elephant Head.

The firearm restrictions in this section do 
not apply to concealed firearm permit holders, 
provided the person is not utilizing the con-
cealed firearm to hunt or take wildlife.

Areas where you can’t 
discharge a firearm
Utah Code § 76-10-508 

You may not discharge a dangerous weapon or 
firearm under any of the following circum-
stances: 

•	From a vehicle 
•	From, upon or across any highway 
•	At power lines or signs
•	At railroad equipment or facilities, 

including any sign or signal 
•	Within Utah state park camp or picnic 

sites, overlooks, golf courses, boat ramps 
or developed beaches 

•	Without written permission from the 
owner or property manager, within 600 
feet of:

•	A house, dwelling or any other 
building 

•	Any structure in which a domestic 
animal is kept or fed, including a 
barn, poultry yard, corral, feeding 
pen or stockyard

Make sure you’re in 
range

In the marsh, you should only shoot at 
birds that are within range. If you try to hit 
a bird that’s too far away, there’s a much 
greater chance the bird will be wounded or 
hard to find.

So, how do you know if you’re in range? 
Before this year’s waterfowl season opens, 
you can improve your ability to judge 
distance accurately with the following 
exercise: 

•	Find an area that’s at least 50 yards 
long and place four regular-sized duck 
decoys 20, 30, 40 and 50 yards from 
your starting point.

•	If you don’t have four regular-sized 
decoys, use four pieces of cardboard 
cut 21 inches long by 4 inches high 
(the size of a medium-sized duck).

•	After placing your targets, go back 
to your starting point, bring your 
unloaded shotgun to your shoulder 
and aim it at the target that’s 20 yards 
away. Notice how big your barrel 
looks in relation to the size of the 
target. Then aim at the targets that 
are 30, 40 and 50 yards away.

Practice this process enough, and you’ll 
know how birds should look when you view 
them over your barrel at different distances 
in the marsh.

Loaded firearms in a 
vehicle
Utah Code §§§§ 76-10-502, 76-10-504, 76-10-505 and 
76-10-523

You may not carry a loaded firearm in or on 
a vehicle unless you meet all of the following 
conditions:

•	You own the vehicle or have permission 
from the vehicle’s owner.

•	The firearm is a handgun.
•	You are 18 years of age or older.

A pistol, revolver, rifle or shotgun is 
considered to be loaded when there is an 
unexpended cartridge, shell or projectile in the 
firing position.

Pistols and revolvers are also considered 
to be loaded when an unexpended cartridge, 
shell or projectile is in a position whereby the 
manual operation of any mechanism once 
would cause the unexpended cartridge, shell 
or projectile to be fired.

A muzzleloading firearm is considered 
loaded when it is capped or primed and has a 
powder charge and ball or shot in the barrel or 
cylinders. 

•	Millard County—Clear Lake and Topaz 
Slough

•	Sanpete County—Manti Meadows
•	Tooele County—Blue Lake and Timpie 

Springs
•	Uintah County—Stewart Lake
•	Utah County—Powell Slough, Utah Lake 

Wetland Preserve
•	Wayne County—Bicknell Bottoms
•	Weber County—Ogden Bay and Harold 

S. Crane
You may not discharge a firearm, crossbow 

or archery tackle on any of the areas listed 
above at any time of the year, except during 
the specified waterfowl hunting seasons or as 
authorized by the Division. 

The firearm restrictions in this section do 
not apply to concealed firearm permit holders, 
provided the person is not utilizing the con-
cealed firearm to hunt or take wildlife.

UTAH

Download from Wildlife.Utah.Gov/MobileApp
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Motorized vehicle 
access on waterfowl 
management areas
Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-12

Motorized vehicle travel on state water-
fowl management areas is restricted to county 
roads, improved roads and parking areas.

Off-highway vehicles are not permitted on 
state waterfowl management areas, except in 
areas that are marked or posted open to their 
use.

Off-highway vehicles are not permitted on 
the Bear River Migratory Bird Refuge.

•	It is less than 16 feet in length.
•	It is propelled by a water jet pump.
•	It is designed to be operated by a person 

sitting, standing or kneeling on the ves-
sel, rather than sitting or standing inside 
the vessel.

Restrictions on motorized 
boats
Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-12

Portions of four WMAs have been set aside 
for hunters who enjoy walking or paddling 
nonmotorized boats into the marsh. Motorized 
boats, which are boats with a motor of any 
kind, including a gas engine or an electric mo-
tor, are not allowed in the following areas:

•	Clear Lake: The entire WMA
•	Farmington Bay: South Crystal Unit
•	Harold S. Crane: Rainbow Pond Unit and 

the main East Pond Unit
•	Public Shooting Grounds: Widgeon Unit

Airboats and personal 
watercraft
Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-11

Air-thrust or air-propelled boats and per-
sonal watercraft are not allowed in designated 
parts of the following waterfowl management 
or federal refuge areas:

•	Box Elder County: Box Elder Lake, Bear 
River, that part of Harold S. Crane within 
one-half mile of all dikes and levees, 
Locomotive Springs, Public Shooting 
Grounds and Salt Creek, and that part 
of the Bear River Migratory Bird Refuge 
north of the "D" line dike, and outside 
Units 1, 3, 4 and 5 as posted.

•	Daggett County: Brown’s Park
•	Davis County: Howard Slough, Ogden Bay 

and Farmington Bay within diked units 
or as posted.

•	Emery County: Desert Lake
•	Millard County: Clear Lake and Topaz 

Slough
•	Tooele County: Timpie Springs
•	Uintah County: Stewart Lake
•	Utah County: Powell Slough
•	Wayne County: Bicknell Bottoms
•	Weber County: Ogden Bay within diked 

units or as posted, and the portion of the 
Harold S. Crane Waterfowl Management 
Area that falls within the county line

The term "personal watercraft" means a 
motorboat that meets the following condi-
tions:

Hunting is also prohibited within 600 feet 
of the north or south side of the Antelope 
Island causeway.

Hunters with 
disabilities
Utah Admin. Rule R657-12

Utah provides special hunting accom-
modations for people with disabilities. Among 
those accommodations are special-use blinds 
for disabled or wheelchair-bound hunters.

For more information, please 
call your local Division office or visit 
wildlife.utah.gov/disabled.  

Hunting methods
Several rules apply to the methods that 

you may use to hunt waterfowl in Utah.

Use of boats, and airborne 
and land vehicles
50 CFR 20.21(e), Utah Code § 23-20-3 and Utah Admin. Rule 
R657-9-10

You may use a boat or motorized aquatic 
vehicle to hunt waterfowl if you obey the 
following rules:

•	Migratory game birds may not be taken 
from any motorboat, or craft that has a 
motor attached to it, unless the motor 
has been completely shut off and the 
motorboat or craft has stopped moving. 

•	Migratory game birds may not be taken 
from a sailboat unless the boat’s sails are 
furled and the boat has stopped moving.

You may use any of these crafts under 
power to retrieve dead or crippled birds, but 
you may not shoot crippled birds from a craft if 
its motor is still running.

Also, you may not use any of the crafts 
listed above, or any type of motor-driven land, 
water or air transportation (including a drone), 
to concentrate, drive, rally or stir up migratory 
birds.

No drones allowed
Utah Code § 23-20-3 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-14

Although drones are growing in 
popularity, it is illegal to use them while 
hunting protected wildlife in Utah. For 
details on all the restrictions that apply 
to airborne vehicles and devices, please 
see Use of boats, and airborne and land 
vehicles on this page.

Did it get wet? 
Decontaminate it!

When you hunt waterfowl, your boat, 
apparel and gear inevitably get wet or 
muddy. 

And everything from your waders and 
decoys to your portable blinds and boat 
motors will provide good hiding places for 
microscopic invasive species or whirling 
disease spores. 

If you’re on foot, you need to complete 
the following steps before you leave a hunt-
ing area and walk into another waterbody. 

1.	 Rinse all the mud and other debris 
off of your waders, boots and wetted 
gear or equipment. 

2.	 Then, generously spray all of 
it—especially the felt soles of wad-
ers—with Formula 409 (a popular 
household cleaner). This treatment 
will kill any whirling disease spores.

3.	 After you return home, thoroughly 
clean and dry all of your gear before 
using it again.

If you’re using a boat to hunt waterfowl, 
you need to follow the clean, drain and dry 
self-decontamination process decribed at 
www.stdofthesea.com. 

If you don’t have time to allow your 
boat to dry thoroughly, you can get it 
professionally decontaminated. Contact 
your local Division office to find the closest 
professional decontamination equipment.

http://wildlife.utah.gov/disabled
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•	Browns Park
•	Bud Phelps
•	Clear Lake
•	Desert Lake
•	Farmington Bay
•	Harold S. Crane
•	Hatt’s Ranch
•	Howard Slough
•	Huntington
•	James Walter Fitzgerald
•	Kevin Conway
•	Locomotive Springs
•	Manti Meadows
•	Mills Meadow
•	Montes Creek
•	Nephi
•	Ogden Bay
•	Pahvant
•	Public Shooting Grounds
•	Redmond Marsh
•	Richfield
•	Roosevelt
•	Salt Creek
•	Scott M. Matheson Wetland Preserve
•	Stewart Lake
•	Timpie Springs
•	Topaz Slough
•	Utah Lake Wetland Preserve
•	Vernal
•	Willard Bay

Live decoys
50 CFR 20.21(f) and Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-14

You may not use live birds as decoys.
Also, you may not take migratory game 

birds from an area where tame or captive live 
ducks or geese are present. The only exception 
is if the tame or captive live ducks or geese 
are—and have been—confined for at least 
10 consecutive days before you take the migra-
tory game birds. The area of confinement must 
substantially reduce the sound of the tame or 
captive birds’ calls. It must also totally conceal 
the birds from the sight of wild migratory 
waterfowl.

the exterior dike separating the WMA’s 
fresh water impoundments from the 
Willard Spur.

Unattended blinds 
In addition to the rules above, two other 

important rules apply to waterfowl blinds on 
WMAs and other state lands that are open to 
public hunting:

•	Any person may use any unoccupied, 
permanent waterfowl blind. Waterfowl 
blinds on state lands are open on a first-
come, first-served basis to everyone, not 
just to the person who built the blind.

•	You cannot leave waterfowl blinds or 
decoys unattended overnight to reserve 
a spot. 

Sinkbox
50 CFR 20.21(c) and Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-13 

You cannot take migratory game birds 
from any type of low-floating device that al-
lows you to be concealed beneath the surface 
of the water. Called "sinkboxes," these devices 
float on the water, but they float barely above 
the water’s surface. You may not hunt from 
sinkboxes. You may, however, hunt from other 
types of boxes, blinds or culverts that are 
attached to the bottom of the body of water 
where you are hunting. 

Using dogs to hunt
Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-28

Dogs may be used to locate and retrieve 
waterfowl during open hunting seasons.

Although dogs are generally allowed on 
state wildlife and waterfowl management 
areas (WMAs), they are prohibited on many 
WMAs from March 10 to August 31 or as 
posted by the Division. Here’s a complete list of 
WMAs and other Division-managed lands that 
are seasonally closed to dogs:

•	Annabella
•	Bear River (Trenton Property Parcel)
•	Bicknell Bottoms
•	Blue Lake

Waterfowl blinds on 
waterfowl management 
areas
Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-34

You can construct and use waterfowl blinds 
on Division waterfowl management areas 
(WMAs) as long as you obey the following 
rules:

•	Waterfowl blinds may not be left 
unattended overnight unless they’re 
constructed entirely of non-woody, 
vegetative materials that naturally occur 
where the blind is located.

•	Live or dead-standing trees and shrubs 
on WMAs may not be cut or damaged 
unless the Division gives express, written 
permission to do so.

•	Soil or rock, above or below the water’s 
surface, may not be excavated on a WMA 
unless the Division gives express, written 
permission to do so.

•	Rock and soil material may not be trans-
ported to a WMA to construct a blind.

•	Waterfowl blinds may not be constructed 
or used in any area or manner that 
obstructs vehicle or pedestrian travel on 
dikes.

Waterfowl blinds that are constructed or 
maintained on WMAs in violation of the rules 
above may be removed or destroyed by the 
Division without notice.

The restrictions above do not apply to the 
following WMA areas: 

•	Farmington Bay Waterfowl Management 
Area—west and north of the Doug 
Miller Unit, Turpin Unit and Unit 1.

•	Howard Slough Waterfowl Management 
Area—west and south of the exterior 
dike separating the WMA’s fresh-water 
impoundments from the Great Salt Lake.

•	Ogden Bay Waterfowl Management 
Area—west of Unit 1, Unit 2 and Unit 3.

•	Harold S. Crane Waterfowl Management 
Area—one half mile north and west of 

Boating laws and rules
It isn’t hard to have a safe waterfowl 

hunt. If your plans include a motorboat, 
please remember these laws and rules to 
ensure your safe return home:

•	Everyone on your boat or vessel 
must have a properly fitted, U.S. 
Coast Guard-approved life jacket. 
Youth who are 12 and younger 
must wear a life jacket at all times.

•	Vessels longer than 16 feet must 
have a throwable personal flota-
tion device immediately available.

•	All motorboats, including those 
with electric motors, must be 
registered and properly numbered.

•	All motorboats must display 
appropriate navigation lights 
from sunset to sunrise. Manually 
propelled boats may use a white 
light.

•	Let someone know where you are 
going and when you expect to 
return, along with your boat and 
vehicle license number. Remember 
to stick to your plan!

•	All motorboats must carry a Type 
B, U.S. Coast Guard-approved fire 
extinguisher, unless exempt.

•	In addition to the equipment 
above, airboats operating on Great 
Salt Lake and adjacent Waterfowl 
Management Areas (WMAs) must 
have a compass and either a flare, 
strobe light or other visual distress 
signal.

For additional boat-
ing safety information, visit 
stateparks.utah.gov/resources/boating or 
call 801-538-2628.
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of hunting is prohibited. No-shooting areas 
remain open to the public for other lawful 
activities. 

The following locations are designated as 
no-shooting areas:

•	Antelope Island causeway—Within 600 
feet of the north and south sides of the 
center line of the causeway 

•	Brown’s Park WMA—Within 600 feet of 
all structures

•	Farmington Bay WMA—Within 600 feet 
of the headquarters and learning-center 
area and within 600 feet of dikes and 
roads accessible by motorized vehicles

•	Ogden Bay WMA—Within 600 feet of 
the headquarters area

•	Gunnison Bend Reservoir—Within 
600 feet of the reservoir and its inflow, 
upstream to the Southerland Bridge 
(Millard County)

•	Within the boundaries of all Utah State 
Parks, except those designated open by 
appropriate signage (see Utah Adminis-
trative Rule R651-614-4)

•	Within 1/3 of a mile of the Great Salt 
Lake Marina

•	All property within the boundary of the 
Salt Lake International Airport

•	All property within the boundaries of 
federal migratory bird refuges, unless 
hunting waterfowl is specifically autho-
rized by the federal government

Trespassing
Utah Code §§ 23-20-14 and 23-20-3.5

While taking wildlife or engaging in 
wildlife-related activities, you may not—
without permission—enter or remain on 
privately owned land that is: 

•	Cultivated
•	Properly posted
•	Fenced or enclosed in a manner designed 

to exclude intruders

a federal migratory game bird stamp and a 
falconry certificate of registration (COR). The 
areas open and the bag and possession limits 
for falconry are listed on page 27.

Legal falconry hours for waterfowl hunting 
are 30 minutes before official sunrise until 
official sunset.

Rest areas
Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-30

Unless you have prior permission from 
the Division, you may access and use state 
waterfowl management areas (WMAs) only 
during the hunting season or for other activi-
ties for which the WMAs have been posted 
open. While you’re on a WMA, you may not 
participate in activities that are prohibited on 
the WMA.

In addition to the rules above, the Division 
has established portions of the WMAs as rest 
areas for wildlife. These areas are closed to the 
public, and trespass of any kind is prohibited. 
The following locations are designated as rest 
areas:

•	Clear Lake WMA—Spring Lake
•	Desert Lake WMA—the area known as 

"Desert Lake"
•	Farmington Bay WMA—the area that 

lies in the northwest quarter of Unit 1
•	Public Shooting Grounds WMA—the 

area that lies above and adjacent to the 
Hull Lake Diversion Dike known as "Duck 
Lake"

•	Salt Creek WMA—the area known as 
"Rest Lake"

You can obtain maps of the rest areas 
by visiting Division offices or by visiting 
wildlife.utah.gov. 

No-shooting areas
Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-30

The Division has established portions 
of the state waterfowl management areas 
(WMAs) as no-shooting areas. In these areas, 
the discharge of weapons for the purpose 

agricultural planting, harvesting, post-
harvest manipulation (for example, a 
farmer working his land after the harvest 
is over) or normal soil stabilization 
practice (for example, a farmer planting 
a cover crop to protect the soil during the 
winter);

•	From a blind or other place of con-
cealment camouflaged with natural 
vegetation;

•	From a blind or other place of conceal-
ment camouflaged with vegetation 
from agricultural crops, as long as such 
camouflaging does not result in the 
exposing, depositing, distributing or 
scattering of grain or other feed; or

•	Standing or flooded standing agricul-
tural crops where grain is inadvertently 
scattered solely as a result of a hunter 
entering or exiting a hunting area, plac-
ing decoys or retrieving downed birds.

Falconry
Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-32

If you are interested in hunting waterfowl 
or coots with a falcon, you must obtain a 
hunting or combination license, a HIP number, 

Amplified bird calls
50 CFDR 20.21 (g) and Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-15

During most of Utah’s waterfowl season, 
you may not use recorded or electronically 
amplified bird calls or sounds, or recorded or 
electronically amplified imitations of bird calls 
or sounds. This year, however, you may use 
electronically amplified calls or sounds during 
the spring hunts for light geese in all three 
goose areas. See page 26 for season dates.

Baiting
50 CFR 20.21 (i) and Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-16

Baiting is an illegal activity that involves 
the spreading of shelled, shucked or unshucked 
corn, wheat or other grain, or salt or other 
feed, to lure, attract or entice birds to an area. 
You may not hunt waterfowl, snipe or coots by 
baiting. You also cannot hunt on or over any 
baited area if you know, or reasonably should 
know, that the area is or has been baited. An 
area is considered to be a baited area for 10 
days after the bait has been completely eaten 
or removed from the area.

You may not take waterfowl or coots on or 
over lands or areas where grain or other feed 
has been distributed or scattered as the result 
of the manipulation of an agricultural crop or 
other feed on the land where grown. However, 
you may take snipe on or over these areas.

Nothing in this guidebook prohibits you 
from harvesting waterfowl or coots on land 
with residual crops or feed left as a result of 
normal agricultural practices.

You also may take waterfowl, snipe and 
coots on or over the following lands or areas, 
as long as these areas have not been baited:

•	Standing crops or flooded standing crops 
(including aquatics); standing, flooded 
or manipulated natural vegetation; 
flooded harvested croplands; or lands or 
areas where seeds or grains have been 
scattered solely as the result of a normal 

Hunting-dog field 
trials and training
Utah Admin. Rule R657-46  

Many of today’s hunting-dog trainers 
want to use game birds (waterfowl or 
upland game) in field trials and other 
dog-related pursuits. 

Because game birds in Utah are 
classified as protected wildlife, rules and 
regulations govern their use in these 
activities. 

If you want to use live game 
birds in dog field trials and training, 
you can pick up a copy of the rules 
at any Division office or find them at 
wildlife.utah.gov/rules.
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before you can go hunting and take 
more.

Custody of another 
person’s birds
50 CFR 20.37 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-23 

You may not receive or have in your 
custody migratory game birds that belong to 
another person unless the birds have been 
tagged in the manner described in the Tagging 
requirement section in the adjacent column.

Species identification 
requirement
50 CFR 20.43 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-24

You may not transport migratory game 
birds within the United States unless the head 
or one fully feathered wing remains attached 
to each bird while you’re transporting them to 
your home or to a migratory bird preservation 
facility (i.e., a facility where birds are taken to 
be cleaned and prepared for consumption).

Marking package or 
container 
50 CFR 20.44 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-25 

You may not transport migratory game 
birds, by the Postal Service or a common 
carrier, unless all of the following items are 
clearly marked on the outside of the package 
or container:

•	Your name and address
•	The name and address of the recipient
•	The number and the species of the birds 

contained in the package
A Utah shipping permit must accompany 

each migratory game bird package that is 
shipped within or from Utah. Shipping permits 
are available from the Division.

Migratory bird 
preservation facilities 
50 CFR 20.82 and 20.83 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-26

No migratory bird preservation facility (see 
definition on page 46) shall receive or have 
in custody any migratory game bird unless ac-

preservation facility (i.e., a facility where birds 
are taken to be cleaned and prepared for the 
table) or to a post office or common carrier and 
consigned them for transport to a person other 
than yourself. 

Tagging requirement
50 CFR 20.36 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-21 

If you leave your birds in the custody of an-
other person for picking, cleaning, processing, 
shipping, transporting or storing, including 
temporary storage, or at a location to have 
taxidermy services performed, you must tag 
the birds. You must sign the tag, and it must 
include your address and Utah hunting license 
number, the total number and species of birds 
taken and the date the birds were killed.

If you’re transporting migratory game birds 
that you’ve taken, the birds are not considered 
to be in storage or temporary storage, and you 
don’t need to have a tag on them at that time.

Giving birds to someone 
else
50 CFR 20.40, Utah Code § 23-20-9 and Utah Admin. Rule 
R657-9-22

You can give the waterfowl you’ve taken 
to another person, but please remember the 
following:

•	If you give birds to someone at any 
location, you must tag the birds. The 
tag must include your address and Utah 
hunting license number, the total num-
ber and species of birds you’re donating, 
the date the birds were killed and the 
date the birds were donated. You must 
also sign the tag.

•	If you accept birds from another hunter, 
those birds become part of your posses-
sion limit. For example, if you have 15 
ducks at home in your freezer, and you 
accept 6 ducks from another hunter, you 
now have 21 ducks in your possession. 
That’s the maximum number of ducks 
you can have in your possession in Utah. 
You’ll have to eat some of those ducks 

Possession and 
transportation

Once you’ve taken a migratory game bird, 
several rules apply to the use of the game 
you’ve taken.

During closed season
50 CFR 20.32 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-17 

You may not possess any freshly killed 
migratory game birds when the hunting 
season is closed.

Live birds
50 CFR 20.38 and Utah Admin. Rules R657-4, R657-9-18 

You may not possess or transport live 
migratory game birds. You must immediately 
kill any migratory game bird you wound and 
include it in your bag limit.

A hunting license does not give you au-
thority to possess live migratory game birds. 

Waste of migratory game 
birds 
50 CFR 20.25, Utah Code § 23-20-8 and Utah Admin. Rule 
R657-9-19

You may not waste any migratory game 
birds or permit them to be wasted or spoiled. 
(Waste means to abandon migratory game 
birds or to allow them to spoil or be used in 
a manner not normally associated with their 
beneficial use. For example, using the meat as 
fertilizer or for trapping bait is not considered a 
beneficial use.)

In addition, you may not kill or cripple 
any migratory game bird without making a 
reasonable effort to immediately retrieve it. 
Any migratory game bird that you wound must 
be immediately killed and included in your 
bag limit.

Termination of possession
50 CFR 20.39 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-20 

Birds that you have taken are no longer 
in your possession once you’ve delivered 
the birds to another person as a gift, or once 
you’ve taken the birds to a migratory bird 

In addition, you may not:
•	Enter or remain on private land when 

directed not to do so by the owner or a 
person acting for the owner.

•	Obstruct any entrance or exit to private 
property.

“Cultivated land” is land that is readily 
identifiable as land whose soil is loosened or 
broken up for the raising of crops, land used 
for the raising of crops, or a pasture that is 
artificially irrigated. 

“Permission” means written authorization 
from the owner or person in charge to enter 
upon private land that is cultivated or properly 
posted. Permission must include all of the 
following details: 

•	The signature of the owner or person in 
charge 

•	The name of the person being given 
permission 

•	The appropriate dates 
•	A general description of the land 

“Properly posted” means that signs 
prohibiting trespass—or bright yellow, bright 
orange or fluorescent paint—are clearly 
displayed at all corners, on fishing streams 
crossing property lines, and on roads, gates 
and rights-of-way entering the land. Or, they 
are displayed in a manner that is visible to a 
person in the area. 

You may not post private property you 
do not own or legally control or land that is 
open to the public as provided by Utah Code 
§ 23-21-4. In addition, it is unlawful to take 
protected wildlife or its parts while trespassing 
in violation of Utah Code § 23-20-14. 

You are guilty of a class B misdemeanor 
if you violate any provision described in this 
section. Your license, tag or permit privileges 
may also be suspended.
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The following is specific information and 
regulations for each of the federal refuges in 
Utah:

Bear River
50 CFR 32.64 

•	The refuge will be open for the youth 
waterfowl hunt on Sept. 19, 2015.

•	A map of the refuge is available online at 
wildlife.utah.gov/maps. 

•	Hunters may not shoot or hunt within 
100 yards of refuge roads open to vehicle 
traffic.

•	Hunters may not enter the hunting units 
(scout) prior to the opening day.

•	Hunters may not use pits or permanent 
blinds. The building of a temporary blind 
made of natural material is permitted, 
but is not allowed prior to the opening 
day.

•	Airboats are only permitted in Unit 9 and 
Block C of the refuge.

•	Off-highway vehicles are not permitted 
on the refuge.

•	Hunters may enter the refuge two hours 
before legal sunrise and must exit the 
refuge by two hours after legal sunset. 

•	The refuge prohibits leaving decoys, 
boats, vehicles and other personal 
property on the refuge overnight.

•	Hunters may only park in designated 
parking areas.

•	Persons possessing, transporting, or car-
rying firearms on the refuge must com-
ply with all provisions of state and local 
law.  Firearms may only be discharged 
according to refuge regulations (50 CFR 
27.42 and 50 CFR 32.64).

•	Hunters may possess only 10 shells while 
hunting on or within 50 feet from the 
center of the dikes on Units 1A and 2C.

•	Archery hunting is not allowed on the 
refuge.

expect to encounter conservation officers and 
biologists checking hunters in the marsh and 
at checkpoints.

If you’re contacted by a conservation 
officer, you must provide the officer with the 
items he or she requests, including any licenses 
and permits required for hunting, any devices 
used to participate in hunting and any birds 
you’ve taken. These contacts allow the Division 
to collect valuable information about Utah’s 
waterfowl populations. 

Special regulations 
for national wildlife 
refuges 
Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-30

More than 500 refuges across the nation 
and the U.S. territories are included in the U.S. 
Fish and Wildlife Service’s National Wildlife 
Refuge System. Three of those refuges—Bear 
River, Fish Springs and Ouray—are located 
in Utah, and the following regulations apply 
to all.

•	Current state and federal regulations 
apply for season dates, shooting hours, 
and bag and possession limits.

•	Hunters may possess and use only ap-
proved nontoxic shot while in the field.

•	Hunters may not enter closed areas to 
retrieve birds. Therefore, allow enough 
room between the closed area boundary 
and where you’re hunting to retrieve 
your birds.

•	Camping is not permitted on the refuges.
•	Prohibited activities include wood cut-

ting and gathering, littering, disturbing 
or removing plants or natural objects, 
and removing artifacts of antiquity. Shell 
casings and ammunition boxes are litter. 
Failure to make a reasonable effort to 
retrieve litter could result in a citation.

Maps of all three refuges are available 
online at wildlife.utah.gov/waterfowl.

Importation 
For information regarding the importation 

of migratory game birds you’ve harvested in 
another country, please see 50 CFR 20.61 and 
20.62, and Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-27, at 
wildlife.utah.gov/rules.

Bag limits
50 CFR 20.11 and 20.24 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-29

Federal bag and possession limits apply 
to migratory game bird hunting, regardless 
of the number of states or provinces you may 
have hunted in during your trip. For example, if 
you hunt ducks in two states, the total number 
of ducks you take in one day cannot exceed a 
single federal bag and possession limit. (For 
example, if the federal bag limit is 7 ducks, and 
you take 5 ducks in one state and then travel to 
another state and hunt the same day, you can 
take only 2 ducks in the second state.)

Checkpoints and 
officer contacts
Utah Code §§ 23-20-25 and 77-23-104

To help the Division fulfill its responsibility 
as trustee and custodian of Utah’s wildlife, 
Division conservation officers and biolo-
gists monitor the taking and possession of 
waterfowl and the required permits, firearms 
and equipment used for hunting. You should 

curate records are maintained that can identify 
who each bird was received from and can show 
all of the following information:

•	The number of each species
•	The location where they were taken
•	The date the birds were received
•	The name and address of the person 

from whom the birds were received
•	The date the birds were disposed of
•	The name and address of the person to 

whom the birds were delivered
In addition, migratory bird preservation 

facilities may not destroy any records they are 
required to maintain under this section for a 
period of one year following the last entry on 
record.

Record keeping as required by this section 
is not necessary at hunting clubs that do not 
fully process migratory birds by removing their 
head and wings.

No migratory bird preservation facility may 
prevent any person authorized to enforce this 
part from entering their facilities at all reason-
able hours and inspecting the records and the 
premises where bird-processing operations are 
being carried out.

If you want to hunt it tomorrow, 
help us protect it today.

Turn In a Poacher
3337

http://wildlife.utah.gov/rules
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•	Persons possessing, transporting, or car-
rying firearms on the refuge must com-
ply with all provisions of state and local 
law.  Firearms may only be discharged 
according to refuge regulations (50 CFR 
27.42 and 50 CFR 32.64).

•	Snipe and swan hunting are not allowed 
on the refuge.

•	The use of pits and permanent blinds is 
not allowed. The building of a temporary 
blind made of natural material is permit-
ted, but is not allowed prior to opening 
day.

•	All hunters entering, using or occupying 
the refuge for waterfowl hunting must 
abide by all terms and conditions listed 
on the refuge website.

•	For more information call the refuge 
manager at 435-545-2522.

•	Hunters may enter the refuge two hours 
before sunrise, and must exit the refuge 
by 1½ hours after sunset. Hunters may 
not leave decoys, boats, vehicles and 
other personal property on the refuge 
overnight.

•	All hunters entering, using or occupying 
the refuge for waterfowl hunting must 
abide by all terms and conditions listed 
on the refuge website.

For more information, call the refuge 
manager at 435-693-3122.

Ouray
50 CFR 32.64

•	The refuge will be open for the youth 
waterfowl hunt on Sept. 19, 2015.

•	A map of the refuge is available online at 
wildlife.utah.gov/maps. 

•	Leota Bottom is the only refuge area 
open to duck, goose and coot hunting.

•	Access into Leota Bottom is limited to 
foot, bike, canoe, rowboat or electric 
motorized boats. Gas-powered boats are 
not permitted.

•	The refuge allows the hunting of ducks 
and coots in designated areas.

•	All waterfowl hunters must register 
individually at the visitor information 
station before entering the open hunting 
area and before exiting the refuge.

•	Hunters may only possess firearms 
legally used to hunt waterfowl unless 
the firearm is cased or dismantled.

•	Hunters may construct nonpermanent 
blinds, but must remove all blinds 
constructed out of materials other than 
vegetation at the end of the hunting day.

•	The refuge provides a Special Blind 
Area for use by the disabled. The refuge 
prohibits trespass for any reason by any 
individual not registered to utilize the 
area.

•	The refuge allows the use of small 
boats, 15 feet or less, but does not allow 
gasoline motors and air boats.

•	Predator and snipe hunting are not 
allowed on the refuge.

•	Commercial guiding and outfitter activi-
ties are not allowed on the refuge.

•	All hunters entering, using or occupying 
the refuge for waterfowl hunting must 
abide by all terms and conditions listed 
on the refuge website.

For more information call the refuge 
manager at 435-723-5887.

Fish Springs
50 CFR 32.64

•	The refuge will be open for the youth 
waterfowl hunt on Sept. 19, 2015.

•	A map of the refuge is available online at 
wildlife.utah.gov/maps.  

Avian diseases in Utah
Avian influenza and avian botulism 

are diseases that primarily affect wild bird 
populations. 

Neither disease typically affects hu-
mans, and as long as you take some simple 
precautions, you can greatly reduce your 
risk of contracting any wildlife disease: 

•	Do not harvest any bird that appears 
sick, and do not pick up diseased or 
dead birds. 

•	Do not allow dogs or other pets to 
handle sick or dead birds.

•	Do not handle or eat sick birds.
•	Keep your game birds cool, clean and 

dry. 

•	Wear rubber or disposable latex 
gloves while handling and cleaning 
your birds. 

•	After cleaning the birds, wash your 
hands with soap and water, and 
thoroughly clean and disinfect all 
knives, equipment and surfaces that 
may have touched the birds.  

•	All birds should be cooked thoroughly 
(well done or at 165° F). 

•	Do not eat, drink or smoke while 
handling your birds.

For more information about avian dis-
eases, please visit wildlife.utah.gov/diseases.

http://wildlife.utah.gov/diseases
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Falconry
Dates: The season dates that apply to 

traditional waterfowl hunters also apply to 
falconers. (Refer to the dates listed on page 
7 for Wilson's snipe, ducks, mergansers, 
geese, coots and scaup.)

Bag and possession limits for Wilson's 
snipe, ducks, mergansers, geese, 
coots and scaup: The daily bag limit for 
falconers is 3 birds. The possession limit is 9 
(singly or in combination).

Important: The only falconers who may hunt 
during the Youth Waterfowl Hunt are those 
who are 15 years old or younger.

Rails
No open season.

Swan (holders of swan 
permits only)
Dates: Oct. 3–Dec. 13, 2015, unless the Divi-

sion’s monitoring program indicates that 
10 trumpeter swans have been taken. If 10 
or more trumpeter swans are taken, the 
season will be closed earlier than Dec. 13.

Bag and possession limit: The holder of a 
swan permit may take and possess only one 
swan during the 2015 season.

Swan hunting boundary: See the swan 
area map online at wildlife.utah.gov/maps.

Wilson’s snipe
Dates: Oct. 3, 2015–Jan. 16, 2016 statewide.

Bag and possession limits: The daily bag 
limit is 8, and the possession limit is 24.

Goose areas
For maps and boundary descriptions 

of the northern, urban and general 
goose areas, visit wildlife.utah.gov/maps.

TOOELE

SAN JUAN

MILLARD

KANE

JUAB

IRON

EMERY

UINTAH

BOX ELDER

GARFIELD

GRAND

UTAH

WAYNE
BEAVER

DUCHESNE

SEVIER

SUMMIT

RICH

WASHINGTON

CARBON

SANPETE

CACHE

PIUTE

WASATCH

DAVIS

WEBER

SALT LAKE

DAGGETT

MORGAN

General goose area

Urban goose area

Northern goose area

Geese
Dark geese

Northern goose area: Sept. 19, 2015 (for Youth 
Waterfowl Hunt) and Oct. 3, 2015–Jan. 16, 
2016

Urban goose area: Sept. 19, 2015 (for Youth 
Waterfowl Hunt), Oct. 3–15, 2015 and Nov. 
7, 2015–Feb. 7, 2016

General goose area: Sept. 19, 2015 (for Youth 
Waterfowl Hunt), Oct. 3–15, 2015 and Oct. 
24, 2015–Jan. 24, 2016

Light geese

Northern goose area: Oct. 24, 2015–Jan. 16, 
2016 and Feb. 18–March 10, 2016

General and urban goose areas: Nov. 3, 2015–
Feb. 7, 2016 and March 1–10, 2016

Note: The Bear River, Fish Springs and Ouray 
national wildlife refuges and the Brown’s 
Park, Desert Lake, Farmington Bay, Harold S. 
Crane, Howard Slough, Locomotive Springs 
and Ogden Bay waterfowl management 
areas will be closed to light goose hunting 
from Feb. 18–March 10, 2016. Maps of 
Utah’s Waterfowl Management Areas and 
national wildlife refuges are available at 
wildlife.utah.gov/waterfowl.

Goose area boundaries: See the goose area 
map on page 27.

Bag and possession limits: Dark geese 
(cackling, Canada, white-fronted, 
brant)—4 per day, 12 in possession; Light 
geese (snow, blue, Ross’)—20 per day, 60 
in possession. 

Ducks, mergansers, 
coots and scaup
Dates: Sept. 19, 2015 (for Youth Waterfowl 

Hunt) and Oct. 3, 2015–Jan. 16, 2016 
statewide (except for scaup, which you can 
hunt Oct. 3–Dec. 27, 2015).

Bag and possession limits: All bag and 
possession limits are listed below:

•	Ducks, mergansers and scaup—The 
daily bag limit is 7 birds (except no more 
than 2 canvasbacks, no more than 2 
female mallards, no more than 2 pintails, 
no more than 2 redheads, no more 
than 2 wood ducks and no more than 
3 scaup). The possession limit is three 
times the daily bag limit.

•	Coots—25 daily or 75 in possession 

SEASON DATES AND BAG AND 
POSSESSION LIMITS
Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-29

Maps available online
Looking for maps and boundary 

descriptions for Utah’s swan- and goose-
hunting areas? You’ll find them online at 
wildlife.utah.gov/maps. 

Maps of Utah’s Waterfowl 
Management Areas and national 
wildlife refuges are available at 
wildlife.utah.gov/waterfowl.

http://wildlife.utah.gov/maps
http://wildlife.utah.gov/maps
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The bag limits for the Youth Waterfowl 
Hunt are as follows:

•	Ducks, mergansers and scaup: 7 birds 
(except no more than 2 canvasbacks, no 
more than 2 hen mallards, no more than 
2 pintails, no more than 2 redheads, no 
more than 2 wood ducks and no more 
than 3 scaup). 

•	Coots: 25 birds
•	Dark geese (cackling, Canada, white-

fronted and brant): 4 birds

Closed for youth hunt
Youth may not hunt the following species 

during the youth hunt:
•	Swan
•	Any light geese (snow, blue and Ross’)
•	Wilson’s snipe

Young hunters will have the marshes to 
themselves on Sept. 19, 2015 as Utah holds its 
annual Youth Waterfowl Hunt.

To hunt that day, you must be 15 years old 
or younger. You must also have a Utah hunting, 
combination or three-day nonresident small-
game license, and a HIP registration number. 
Falconers may not participate in this hunt 
unless they meet the age requirements.

Adults must accompany youth hunters. 
Please see page 8 of this guide for more 
information about the requirements adults 
must meet to accompany a youth in the field.

The shooting hours for the Youth Water-
fowl Hunt are from 30 minutes before sunrise 
until sunset. This means that on Sept. 19, 
youth can hunt from 6:42 a.m. until 7:30 p.m.

SHOOTING HOURS
Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-31

Shooting hours for all waterfowl, snipe and 
coots begin 30 minutes before official sunrise. 
Shooting hours end at official sunset. These 
rules apply statewide, even on opening day. 
Please remember that there is not a later start 
time for Utah’s urban counties on the day of 
the waterfowl opener.

NOTE: Remember to subtract 30 min-
utes from the time of official sunrise to 
determine when you can start shooting.

Official sunrise and sunset times are differ-
ent, depending on the day and your location. 
Please consult the time zone map on this page 
to learn the differences. 

You must also follow one other shooting-
hour rule: You may not take wildlife or 
discharge any firearm, crossbow or archery 
tackle on state-owned lands adjacent to the 
Great Salt Lake, on Division-controlled water-
fowl management areas or on federal refuges 
between official sunset and 30 minutes before 
official sunrise.

Time zone map

GRAND

BOX ELDER
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MILLARD
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CACHE
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SALT
LAKE

UTAH
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DAGGETT

CARBON

EMERY

PIUTE WAYNE

SAN JUAN
GARFIELD

KANE

IRON

WASHINGTON

RI
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DUCHESNE

+ 5 MIN. -0- -5 MIN. -10 MIN.

UTAH’S YOUTH WATERFOWL HUNT
Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-29

I SUPPORT WILDLIFE
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December 2015
Date Sunrise 

A.M.
Sunset 

P.M.
Species

1 7:32 5:01 :5n ^ ulsM

2 7:33 5:00 :5n ^ ulsM

3 7:34 5:00 :5n ^ ulsM

4 7:35 5:00 :5n ^ ulsM

5 7:36 5:00 :5n ^ ulsM

6 7:37 5:00 :5n ^ ulsM

7 7:38 5:00 :5n ^ ulsM

8 7:39 5:00 :5n ^ ulsM

9 7:40 5:00 :5n ^ ulsM

10 7:41 5:00 :5n ^ ulsM

11 7:41 5:00 :5n ^ ulsM

12 7:42 5:00 :5n ^ ulsM

13 7:43 5:00 :5n ^ ulsM

14 7:44 5:01 : n ^ ulsM

15 7:44 5:01 : n ^ ulsM

16 7:45 5:01 : n ^ ulsM

17 7:46 5:01 : n ^ ulsM

18 7:46 5:02 : n ^ ulsM

19 7:47 5:02 : n ^ ulsM

20 7:48 5:03 : n ^ ulsM

21 7:48 5:03 : n ^ ulsM

22 7:49 5:04 : n ^ ulsM

23 7:49 5:04 : n ^ ulsM

24 7:49 5:05 : n ^ ulsM

25 7:50 5:05 : n ^ ulsM

26 7:50 5:06 : n ^ ulsM

27 7:51 5:07 : n ^ ulsM

28 7:51 5:07 : ^ ulsM

29 7:51 5:08 : ^ ulsM

30 7:51 5:09 : ^ ulsM

31 7:51 5:10 : ^ ulsM

January 2016
Date Sunrise 

A.M.
Sunset 

P.M.
Species

1 7:52 5:10 : ^ ulsM

2 7:52 5:11 : ^ ulsM

3 7:52 5:12 : ^ ulsM

4 7:52 5:13 : ^ ulsM

5 7:52 5:14 : ^ ulsM

6 7:52 5:15 : ^ ulsM

7 7:52 5:16 : ^ ulsM

8 7:52 5:17 : ^ ulsM

9 7:51 5:18 : ^ ulsM

10 7:51 5:19 : ^ ulsM

11 7:51 5:20 : ^ ulsM

12 7:51 5:21 : ^ ulsM

13 7:50 5:22 : ^ ulsM

14 7:50 5:23 : ^ ulsM

15 7:50 5:24 : ^ ulsM

16 7:49 5:25 : ^ ulsM

17 7:49 5:27 ul M

18 7:48 5:28 ul M

19 7:48 5:29 ul M

20 7:47 5:30 ul M

21 7:47 5:31 ul M

22 7:46 5:32 ul M

23 7:45 5:34 ul M

24 7:45 5:35 ul M

25 7:44 5:36 u M

26 7:43 5:37 u M

27 7:42 5:38 u M

28 7:42 5:40 u M

29 7:41 5:41 u M

30 7:40 5:42 u M

31 7:39 5:43 u M

October 2015
Date Sunrise 

A.M.
Sunset 

P.M.
Species

3 7:26 7:06 :5n ^ ul

4 7:27 7:05 :5n ^ ul

5 7:28 7:03 :5n ^ ul

6 7:29 7:02 :5n ^ ul

7 7:30 7:00 :5n ^ ul

8 7:31 6:58 :5n ^ ul

9 7:32 6:57 :5n ^ ul

10 7:33 6:55 :5n ^ ul

11 7:34 6:54 :5n ^ ul

12 7:35 6:52 :5n ^ ul

13 7:36 6:50 :5n ^ ul

14 7:37 6:49 :5n ^ ul

15 7:39 6:47 :5n ^ ul

16 7:40 6:46 :5n ^

17 7:41 6:44 :5n ^

18 7:42 6:43 :5n ^

19 7:43 6:41 :5n ^

20 7:44 6:40 :5n ^

21 7:45 6:39 :5n ^

22 7:46 6:37 :5n ^

23 7:47 6:36 :5n ^

24 7:49 6:34 :5n ^ ls

25 7:50 6:33 :5n ^ ls

26 7:51 6:32 :5n ^ ls

27 7:52 6:30 :5n ^ ls

28 7:53 6:29 :5n ^ ls

29 7:54 6:28 :5n ^ ls

30 7:55 6:26 :5n ^ ls

31 7:57 6:25 :5n ^ ls

November 2015
Date Sunrise 

A.M.
Sunset 

P.M.
Species

1 6:58 5:24 :5n ^ ls

2 6:59 5:23 :5n ^ ls

3 7:00 5:22 :5n ^ lsM

4 7:01 5:20 :5n ^ lsM

5 7:02 5:19 :5n ^ lsM

6 7:04 5:18 :5n ^ lsM

7 7:05 5:17 :5n ^ ulsM

8 7:06 5:16 :5n ^ ulsM

9 7:07 5:15 :5n ^ ulsM

10 7:08 5:14 :5n ^ ulsM

11 7:09 5:13 :5n ^ ulsM

12 7:11 5:12 :5n ^ ulsM

13 7:12 5:11 :5n ^ ulsM

14 7:13 5:10 :5n ^ ulsM

15 7:14 5:10 :5n ^ ulsM

16 7:15 5:09 :5n ^ ulsM

17 7:17 5:08 :5n ^ ulsM

18 7:18 5:07 :5n ^ ulsM

19 7:19 5:06 :5n ^ ulsM

20 7:20 5:06 :5n ^ ulsM

21 7:21 5:05 :5n ^ ulsM

22 7:22 5:05 :5n ^ ulsM

23 7:23 5:04 :5n ^ ulsM

24 7:25 5:03 :5n ^ ulsM

25 7:26 5:03 :5n ^ ulsM

26 7:27 5:02 :5n ^ ulsM

27 7:28 5:02 :5n ^ ulsM

28 7:29 5:02 :5n ^ ulsM

29 7:30 5:01 :5n ^ ulsM

30 7:31 5:01 :5n ^ ulsM

: Wilson's snipe, ducks, mergansers and coots
5 Swan
n Scaup
^ Dark geese in the Northern Goose Area

u Dark geese in the Urban Goose Area
l Dark geese in the General Goose Area
s Light geese in the Northern goose areas
M Light  geese in the General and Urban Goose Area

: Wilson's snipe, ducks, mergansers and coots
5 Swan
n Scaup
^ Dark geese in the Northern Goose Area

u Dark geese in the Urban Goose Area
l Dark geese in the General Goose Area
s Light geese in the Northern goose areas
M Light  geese in the General and Urban Goose Area
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March 2016
Date Sunrise 

A.M.
Sunset 

P.M.
Species

1 7:01 6:19 sM

2 6:59 6:21 sM

3 6:57 6:22 sM

4 6:56 6:23 sM

5 6:54 6:24 sM

6 6:53 6:25 sM

7 6:51 6:26 sM

8 6:50 6:27 sM

9 6:48 6:28 sM

10 6:46 6:29 sM

All hunts end March 10

February 2016
Date Sunrise 

A.M.
Sunset 

P.M.
Species

1 7:38 5:45 u M

2 7:37 5:46 u M

3 7:36 5:47 u M

4 7:35 5:48 u M

5 7:34 5:50 u M

6 7:33 5:51 u M

7 7:32 5:52 u M

No active hunts until Feb. 18
18 7:18 6:05 s

19 7:17 6:07 s

20 7:15 6:08 s

21 7:14 6:09 s

22 7:12 6:10 s

23 7:11 6:11 s

24 7:10 6:12 s

25 7:08 6:14 s

26 7:07 6:15 s

27 7:05 6:16 s

28 7:04 6:17 s

29 7:02 6:18 s

Drake
Hen

Hen

Fall plumage drake
Orange bill

Yellow to olive bill

Orange feet

Mallard Drake has a solid green head and
a short tail. Hen is mottled brown.
Length: 24", Weight: 2 ¾ lbs.

Eclipse drake

Identification

SPECIES 
IDENTIFICATION

Colored symbols represent species that may be hunted on the dates listed.
: Wilson's snipe, ducks, mergansers and coots
5 Swan
n Scaup
^ Dark geese in the Northern Goose Area

u Dark geese in the Urban Goose Area
l Dark geese in the General Goose Area
s Light geese in the Northern goose areas
M Light  geese in the General and Urban Goose Area
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Hen
Drake

Gadwall
Often mistaken for a mallard. Quicker and more agile than the mallard.
Length: 21", Weight: 2 lbs.

Eclipse drake

Hen

Fall plumage drake

Orange bill

Bluish-black bill

Yellow feet

Identification

Hen

Fall plumage drake

Pintail
Distinguished by 
long, pointed tail.
Length: 26"
Weight: 1 ¾ lbs.

Eclipse drake

Bluish-gray feet

Hen

Drake
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Identification

Wigeon illustrations courtesy of Mark Perry

Hen

Eclipse drake
Fall plumage drake

Drake

Hen

Wigeon
The white belly and forewing are very 

showy in the air. Drakes whistle and 
the hens have a loud kaow  

and a lower qua-awk.
Length: 21"

Weight: 1¾ lbs.

Shovelers
Often called spoon bill and mistaken for a mallard.
Length: 19 ½", Weight: 1 ½ lbs.

Eclipse drake

Fall plumage drake

Hen

Hen Drake

Orange, shovel-
shaped bill

Black, shovel-
shaped bill
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Redhead
Often confused with the 
canvasback, the redhead has  
a grayer back and a more 
rounded head.
Length: 20", 
Weight: 2 ½ lbs.

Fall plumage drake

Eclipse drake

Hen

Hen
Drake

Identification
Canvasback
One of the largest and fastest ducks. The 
wedge-shaped bill gives this duck a unique 
profile. The drake has a whitish back.
Length: 22", 
Weight: 3 lbs.

Hen

Eclipse drake

Fall plumage drake

Drake Hen
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Scaup
The scaup has a blue bill and a white band along the back of the wing.
Length: 17", Weight: 17/8 lbs.

Fall plumage drake

Hen

Hen
Drake

Identification
Ring-necked duck
Both sexes have a pale, whitish ring around 
the tip of their bill. In flight, wings and 
back appear darker than on the scaup.
Length: 17", Weight: 2 ½ lbs.

Fall plumage drake

Hen

Drake

Hen
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Snow goose

Lesser Snow Goose

Blue Phase Lesser Snow Goose

Ross' Goose

Wart-like bumps 
on base of bill

Short bill

Black wing tips

Black wing tips

Dark abdomen

Snow goose illustrations by Ben Sutter

Identification
Swan

Adult Tundra Swan

Eye is distinct 
from bill

Adult Trumpeter Swan

White wing tips

Eye appears to be 
part of the bill

Irregular yellow spot 
in front of the eyes

No yellow spot in 
front of the eyes

Swan illustrations by Ben Sutter
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Pelican

Black wing tips

Large yellow bill

Pelican illustrations by Ben Sutter

Not legal to shoot.

Identification
Wilson's snipe
The snipe usually flushes singly or in pairs and has a rust-colored patch on the 
back. The dowitcher, which flushes in flocks, has white feathers.

Dowitcher
Not legal to shoot.

All illustrations © Lani Nielsen (except where otherwise noted)
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Division means the Utah Division of Wildlife 
Resources.

Light geese means the following species: 
snow, blue and Ross’.

Live decoys means tame or captive ducks, 
geese or other live birds.

Manipulation means the alteration of 
natural vegetation or agricultural crops by 
activities that include but are not limited to 
mowing, shredding, discing, rolling, chopping, 
trampling, flattening, burning or herbicide 
treatments. The term “manipulation” does not 
include the distributing or scattering of grain, 
seed or other feed after removal from storage 
on the field where grown.

Migratory bird preservation facility 
means any of the following organizations or 
people: 

•	Any person who—at their residence or 
place of business, and for hire or other 
consideration—receives, possesses 
or has in custody any migratory game 
birds belonging to another person for 
purposes of picking, cleaning, freezing, 
processing, storage or shipment.

•	Any taxidermist, cold-storage facility 
or locker plant that for hire or other 
consideration receives, possesses or has 
in custody any migratory game birds be-
longing to another person for purposes 
of picking, cleaning, freezing, processing, 
storage or shipment.

•	Any hunting club that in the normal 
course of operations receives, possesses 
or has in custody any migratory game 
birds belonging to another person for 
purposes of picking, cleaning, freezing, 
processing, storage or shipment.

Bait means shelled, shucked or unshucked 
corn, wheat or other grain, salt or other feed 
that lures, attracts or entices birds.

Baited area means any area on which 
shelled, shucked or unshucked corn, wheat or 
other grain, salt or other feed has been placed, 
exposed, deposited, distributed or scattered, 
if that shelled, shucked or unshucked corn, 
wheat or other grain, salt or other feed could 
serve as a lure or attraction for migratory game 
birds to, on, or over areas where hunters are 
attempting to take migratory game birds. Any 
such area will remain a baited area for ten days 
following the complete removal of all such 
shelled, shucked or unshucked corn, wheat or 
other grain, salt or other feed.

Baiting means the direct or indirect placing, 
exposing, depositing, distributing or scattering 
of salt, grain or other feed that could serve as 
a lure or attraction for migratory game birds 
to, on or over any areas where hunters are 
attempting to take them.

CFR means the Code of Federal Regulations.

Closed season means the days on which 
migratory game birds shall not be taken.

Daily bag limit means the maximum 
number of migratory game birds of a single 
species, or combination (aggregate) of species, 
permitted to be taken by one person in any 
one day during the open season in any one 
specified geographic area for which a daily bag 
limit is prescribed.

Dark geese means the following species: 
cackling, Canada, white-fronted and brant.

DEFINITIONS
CFR 20.11, Utah Code § 23-13-2 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-9-2

Normal agricultural planting, harvest-
ing or post-harvest manipulation means 
a planting or harvesting undertaken for the 
purpose of producing and gathering a crop, or 
manipulation after such harvest and removal 
of grain that is conducted in accordance with 
official recommendations of State Extension 
Specialists of the Cooperative Extension Service 
of the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

Normal soil stabilization practice means 
a planting for agricultural soil erosion control 
or post-mining land reclamation conducted in 
accordance with official recommendations of 
State Extension Specialists of the Cooperative 
Extension Service of the U.S. Department of 
Agriculture for agricultural soil erosion control.

Off-highway vehicle means any motor 
vehicle designed for or capable of travel over 
unimproved terrain.

Open season means the days on which 
migratory game birds may lawfully be taken. 
Each period prescribed as an open season shall 
be construed to include the first and last days 
thereof.

Permanent waterfowl blind means 
any waterfowl blind that is left unattended 
overnight and that is not a portable structure 
capable of immediate relocation.

Possession means actual or constructive 
possession.

Possession limit means the maximum num-
ber of migratory game birds of a single species 
or a combination of species permitted to be 
possessed by any one person when lawfully 
taken in the United States in any one specified 
geographic area for which a possession limit is 
prescribed.

Migratory game birds means those migra-
tory birds included in the terms of conventions 
between the United States and any foreign 
country for the protection of migratory birds, 
for which open seasons are prescribed in this 
part and belong to the following families:

•	Anatidae (ducks, mergansers, swans and 
geese, including brant)

•	Columbidae (doves and pigeons)
•	Corvidae (American crow)
•	Gruidae (cranes)
•	Rallidae (rails, coots and gallinules)
•	Scolopacidae (woodcock and snipe)

Natural vegetation means any non-
agricultural, native or naturalized plant species 
that grows at a site in response to planting or 
from existing seeds or other propagules. The 
term “natural vegetation” does not include 
planted millet. However, planted millet that 
grows on its own in subsequent years after 
the year of planting is considered natural 
vegetation.

Nonresident means a person who does not 
qualify as a resident.

Nontoxic shot means soft iron, steel, 
copper-plated steel, nickel-plated steel, 
zinc-plated steel, bismuth-tin, tungsten-iron, 
tungsten-polymer, tungsten-matrix, tin and 
any other shot types approved by the U.S. Fish 
and Wildlife Service. Lead, nickel-plated lead, 
copper-plated lead, copper and lead/copper 
alloy shot have not been approved.

Normal agricultural operation means 
a normal agricultural planting, harvesting, 
post-harvest manipulation or agricultural 
practice that is conducted in accordance with 
official recommendations of State Extension 
Specialists of the Cooperative Extension Service 
of the U.S. Department of Agriculture.
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resident if he or she is an absentee landowner 
paying property tax on land in Utah. 

Sinkbox means any type of low floating 
device, having a depression, affording the 
hunter a means of concealment beneath the 
surface of the water.

Spoiled means impairment of the flesh of 
wildlife which renders it unfit for human 
consumption.

Tag means a card, label or other identification 
device used for attachment to the carcass of 
any protected wildlife.

Take means to hunt, pursue, harass, catch, 
capture, angle, seine, trap or kill any protected 
wildlife or to attempt any of these actions.

Transport means to ship, export, import or 
receive or deliver for shipment.

Waste means to abandon protected wildlife 
or to allow protected wildlife to spoil or to be 
used in a manner not normally associated with 
its beneficial use.

Waterfowl means ducks, including mergan-
sers, geese, brant and swans.

Waterfowl blind means any manufactured 
place of concealment, including boats, rafts, 
tents, excavated pits, or similar structure, 
which has been designed to partially or 
completely conceal a person while hunting 
waterfowl.

Resident means a person who has a fixed 
permanent home and principal establishment 
in Utah for six consecutive months immedi-
ately preceding the purchase of a license or 
permit, AND DOES NOT claim residency for 
hunting, fishing or trapping in any other state 
or country.

An individual retains Utah residency if he 
or she leaves Utah to serve in the armed forces 
of the United States, or for religious or educa-
tional purposes, and does NOT claim residency 
for hunting, fishing or trapping in any other 
state or country.

Members of the armed forces of the United 
States and dependents are residents as of 
the date the member reports for duty under 
assigned orders in Utah, if:

•	The member is NOT on temporary duty 
in Utah and does NOT claim residency for 
hunting, fishing or trapping in any other 
state or country. 

•	The member presents a copy of his or her 
assignment orders to a Division office to 
verify the member’s qualification as a 
resident. 

A nonresident attending an institution of 
higher learning in Utah as a full-time student 
may qualify as a resident if the student has 
been present in Utah for 60 consecutive days 
immediately preceding the purchase of the 
license or permit and does NOT claim residency 
for hunting, fishing or trapping in any other 
state or country. 

A Utah resident license or permit is invalid 
if a resident license for hunting, fishing or trap-
ping is purchased in any other state or country. 
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